Come and learn about Scottish Highland history, the land and its people in Brora, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I was born in Edinburgh, and trained as a teacher there. I lived in London for many years pursuing my teaching. i am now retired, and returned to my home village, where i was brought up. I will need help to build an organic vegetable plot, with a raised bed or two, and to decorate a coupe of rooms.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    My project in the garden is to create raised beds to grow organic vegetables. There is also some weeding, pruning, tidying, planting required. In the house, I would like help with decorating, spring cleaning and general maintenance.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Brora is a small Highland village with a unique history. I am involved with the local Heritage Society. there are opportunities to visit historic monuments, castles, and find out about other important aspects of local, and Scottish history.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Small amount of French and Scottish Gaelic.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can accommodate only female volunteers at present.
    Volunteer would have own bedroom with double bed and TV. all other areas of the house will be shared with me. There is a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer.
    For Breakfast I will provide - cereals, fruit juice, toast etc. - a snack lunch and a more substantial evening meal. The village has a supermarket, so volunteers can buy whatever else they might need, I am a vegetarian, so i would prefer not to have meat in the house.
    I am happy for volunteers to do some of the cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Brora has transport links by bus and train to Inverness and Wick. Inverness has the nearest airport with a shuttle service to the city centre.
    Brora provides opportunities for hill-walking. hiking, fishing , golfing, horse-riding and beach-walking - all available locally. There are also places of historical interest to visit. There is much wild-life to see including seals, and sea otters, a unique dolphin colony, while minke and other whales are to be seen off-shore, occasionally. There are many other interesting places to visit, as Brora is on the NC500 route.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My first Workawayer!




Host ref number: 583527838131