Help us run this large property in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 225 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    440

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an eclectic British family who have been living in Tuscany for over 20 years. We have a huge property with a large house and grounds. We grow our own vegetables and fruit. We have a small vineyard and a large garden and pool. We have dogs and children.

    We love to share!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    WE ARE NOW ACCEPTING ENQUIRIES FROM MARCH 2019 ONWARDS!

    Three generations live in this huge Tuscan property. Grandparents and myself plus daughter.

    We have a large house, big garden with a large pool and some olives, an orchard, vegetable gardens and a small vineyard. There is always something that needs doing. Living in a property this size means that something somewhere needs some tender loving care!

    We sometimes have rentals in some of our guest rooms, and sometimes just have friends and relatives staying, so help with this might be on the agenda.

    Our vineyard has over 700 vines that are only five years old and need some extra love!

    We only have about 15 olive trees, but they still need taking care of.

    We have a vegetable garden that yields tons of amazing fresh veggies each year provided it is cared for.

    We have a young orchard with pear, apple, apricot, plum, fig, cob nut and cherry trees.

    We already have full-time help with the housework, but sometimes there are extra-jobs to do that need some focused attention.

    My bilingual daughter is nine and LOVES interaction with older people. So what we need is not so much babysitting as "hanging out and being cool". (Nail varnish experts and those able to apply temporary tattoos extra-welcome). She attends mainstream Italian school, so help with reading and writing in English is always good. She aspires to becoming a synchronised swimmer, so if you are able to do handstands in the pool, that would be cool.

    We have an ageing dog who no longer need huge amounts of exercise, but cuddles and attention in general are really good (Black Retriever - Bounce). No doubt other dogs will turn up soon!

    So in short, there are always lots of things to do and we can find the work best suited to each person's skill set. But definitely being an out-doors type and being prepared to get a little dirty would be good.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an English speaking family, (although my daughter and I are bilingual Italian).

    We are have a very healthy approach to food - no processed, and lots of local, seasonal produce. We totally embrace the local cuisine.

    Our property and the surrounding area is literally packed with history. We would be delighted to share that with you over dinner and a glass of wine.

    It has taken us a long time (and we are still learning!) about making produce from the land we live on, and we would love to share that knowledge with you. And Indeed learn from you if you have experience.

    We often entertain, dinners, BBQs, whatever, and we would love you to join in.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, really bad French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer double room (s) with own bathrooms. Two double rooms (with own bathrooms) are in the main house. both have independent access to the outside, so you don't have to come through our house to get out! Another double room with own bathroom is just on the other side of the road, in the vineyard! All of the rooms are dedicated "guest" rooms, so with lots of wardrobe space and empty drawers!

    Food is on us if you are in the house! We are generally around for breakfast, lunch and dinner (and if we are not we will make sure you don't go hungry!) You can also run your clothes through the washing machine as you need to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located just outside (3km) the town of Pontassieve which has excellent trains connections to central Florence (20/25 mins depending on the train!)

    We are definitely in the country! The walk from the station to the house is totally do-able, but if you need a lift and we are around, we are totally happy to do that.

    We have a Mon-Fri routine which is pretty standard. We work, and we retire normally fairly early - between 9 and 11. Weekends can get a bit funky!

    We are very definite NON smokers (not inside or outside or anywhere!), but are big on food and wine!

    Our house is within a small group of properties (another 4 families) and we are mindful of their needs too. (So we don't play music until 3am .....)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




















Host ref number: 484525464368