Looking for outdoor landscaping, gardening & chicken care support in Ontario, Canada

Favourited 39 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    26/10/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    673

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our eco-farm is an incredibly beautiful +16 acre homestead, where we are growing in our self-sufficiency. We are start-up farm that is slowly growing in a small and steady scale with some small-scale livestock (a few lay chickens at this time), honey bees, lavender plants, start-up mushrooms and a baby orchard. We have a great spring fed pond that you can swim in from May to September. Ingrid is a psychotherapist and Natural Building Architect. She is experienced at teaching courses on these various related subjects, including general homesteading and you may be assisting in setting up possible events and/or online training's.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for outdoor landscaping, gardening, homesteading & possible chicken care support. We have 100 meat chickens until mid-September. We have lots of perennial flowers, a large organic veg garden & greenhouse, medicinal herbs, canning/dehydrating/food preservation, small orchard, bee care & honey making, start-up mushroom farming and lavender. We are considering setting up a larger CSA, community food program, soaps and/or ointment products to sell next year. We are setting up a re-branding launch, with online courses that will funnel people to attend hands-on workshops. We will need computer, website, social media assistance soon.

    You may be doing some house cleaning, re-organizing or cooking as needed. Minimal care of my mom (with dementia) may be helpful on weekends or more.

    Have a couple of natural building projects possible, from finishing a bus/tiny house retrofit, finishing a small wood sleeping bunkie, renovating the inside of a 1 bedroom trailer, to building a straw/clay outhouse/shower in 2018, to fixing up the chicken coops, interior house painting & small house repair/reno's, etc. Maybe build also a pond deck and small canopy area in 2018. Prefer three or four 5 - 7 hour help days on Tuesdays, Thursday's, Friday's and Saturday's (most preferred) for working (as I'm not available to supervise on Monday's & Wednesdays). However, if you are good at self-directed work, hours can be quite flexible and 3 - 4 day trips away can be possible at times (not every week though!).

    We have a few lay chickens, an independent cat and a very friendly and active border collie dog. And our neighbour has peacocks that occasionally wander over.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a bit of dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a really nice guest room in the house with 2 twin beds, 2 full 3 piece bathrooms in the house, and a renovated school bus that can accommodate up to 4 people, as well as a wood frame sleeping bunkie and trailer that I hope to have finished by Spring 2018.

    We are often booked from May to September well in advance. If you are interested in 2018, please contact me early in the year. I prefer a range of 2 min. - 4 people max. at a time, although May can be busier for planting and July can be more if I do an interesting building project. Although, things can change at the last minute with workawayer visitors, so please still contact me just in case.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a farm truck for errands that a valid International Driver's License is needed as well as it may be possible to be borrowed for occasional personal trips, if not excessive. We are located 1 hour away from downtown Toronto, outside of rush hour traffic (we are north-east of Toronto, 20 min south of Lake Simcoe). And we are about 1 - 1.5 hours away from some great wilderness, canoeing or camping areas up north. Suggestions can be provided of where to sight see trips, local entertainment, etc...

    We tend to eat a very holistic, almost all organic diet with gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, or dairy free options, leaning on the paleo side. We have several board games available, hundreds of books on all subjects of homesteading, natural building, holistic health, mental wellness, spirituality and healing that you can borrow. We also have many percussion instruments including drums, rattles, silver & wooden flute, guitar and a harpsichord piano (needs to get tuned) for evening fun! We have a large screen TV, and an extra laptop for movies or possible Netflix (country internet is sometimes a bit slow and will be a bit limited for your video use, etc. as it is expensive here) with plenty of DVD movies available too. We also have a canoe that can be borrowed, along with wilderness camping equipment. Also, a small racing sailboat that the truck can pull (I'm not great at putting it all together on my own, though I'm sure it can be tried) that may be sailed in Lake Simcoe, nearby....

    I value my privacy greatly, so I expect boundaries to be honored such as my personal spaces (office, bedroom, therapy room), quiet after 10 pm at night, clean up dishes after yourself if not eating with the group, etc. This is a non-smoking house and property, including 420. Alcohol use is minimal, although we do have some honey mead to try that we have made for the first time and your own beer or wine may be fine too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to become a simple homesteader, practical day to day skills of how to manage a small-scale farm, small-scale natural building and renovation skills, as well as possible wellness and healing skills. There may be the occasional dinner parties with the local community and opportunities for a sweat lodge may also be possible.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25-30 hours a week over 3 - 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Andrew & Camille eating wholesome and healthy food!
Buddha Garden
Franzi, Riki & Silas, workawayers from Germany, taking a refreshment break after a hard job at scraping paint of the deck! (April 2017)
Awesome workaway students, Franzi & Riki, from Germany planting seeds in dining room (April 2017)
View of greenhouse from the swimming pond!
Try some of my organic honey mead wine! My first batch (May 2017)!
Meat chicken growing! (Temporarily on hold until weasel problem resolved!)
Beehive management and honey making!
Entry to Veg Garden!
Digging up carrots for the cold cellar on the first snowy day of November 2016!
Putting the rebar in place for the curved concrete roof of the new cold cellar!
Incredibly amazing fresh spring water swimming pond!
View of coach house building on left and main house/screen porch on right, with giant organic raspberry bush in the very bottom front of photo!
View of main house from Flower Garden area.





Host ref number: 385916392483