Small farm in UK. Help with children, horses, ponies & sheep. Fun, friendly family

Favourited 308 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/02/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    February - April 2018 - Looking for someone who can help look after the horses in the morning (and ride if you are experienced) and help with our daughter after school. Happy to accommodate last minute enthusiastic workaway. We look forward to talking and welcoming you into our family.

    The 5 of us- me, my husband, our 2 kids 11 & 8 and granny live on a small farm with horses & sheep. We have had workdays, foreign students and helpers living with us over the last 3 years and have made fantastic friendships. I

    On the farm and in the garden there are lots of maintenance jobs to be done. We appreciate any type of help - looking after the kids, helping clean and cook, maintaining buildings, looking after the vegetable garden ... something to suit everyone!!! Our son competes on his pony a lot over the summer and there is always lots of work to do with the horses, and the opportunity to ride if you are experienced.

    My husband works for a Spanish company in Oxford and often visits Madrid. We are both liberal and open minded people who are well travelled. I work locally two days a week and spend as much time as possible with the family.

    Our youngest daughter has Down's Syndrome and lights up the hearts of everyone that knows her. In order for her to enjoy life to the max, we love to have an extra pair of hands to help out. It might be playing with her and helping her to join in games with her friends, or helping in other ways. She had cancer when she was 2, which resulted in long lasting brain damage and she is now in a wheelchair.

    We live near a small village, with a pub, church, small shop, school and playing fields. it can be quiet in our area, but you can bicycle to the city in 25 minutes. We have a bike you can use and can also offer the use of a car if it is a longer term stay (6 months or more)

    We live centrally and it is easy to explore the UK, while you stay with us. I am happy to drop off and collect from the bus or train stations and the work is very flexible if you want to explore for 3/4/5 days and then come back to join us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Some of the tasks available include:

    Playing with the children and helping our daughter who is in a wheelchair play in the garden, with her pony and in the house.

    Gardening. Help in the vegetable garden, cutting hedges, weeding. We also want to do some landscaping in an area of the garden to have a wheelchair accessible area.

    Building maintenance - painting windows and doors. Fencing on the farm.

    Help with horses and ponies - cleaning the horses and stables. Riding the pony (if you are experienced) and helping at competitions.

    help with the sheep - feeding and cleaning the barn. Lambing in March.

    housework - cleaning and laundry

    Help with the children - playing football, swimming etc. Helping our daughter with her physiotherapy and other exercises

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double Room with own access. Wifi, TV. Shared shower room

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is small and quiet, so do not expect to have lots of local entertainment. There is a lovely pub, a small shop, a church and a school. 4 miles away is the small town of Winslow, which has a market, shops and restaurants. We are 7 miles from the City of Milton Keynes (takes 20-25 min to cylce to on a track). It is a modern city with lots and lots of shops, a museum, English Colleges, University, a theatre and Xscape (indoor skiing, sky diving and theatre) and parks. Milton Keynes has excellent transport links by bus and train to the rest of the UK.

    We have a bicycle at your disposal and I am always happy to drive guests to the train station if they want to visit London (35 min on train), Oxford (40 min on bus). We do not have a spare car. I am happy for volunteers to have consecutive free days to travel further afield.

    Both our children are at school and there are some days that I need an extra pair of hands when they are at home. Weekends can also be very busy!

    My husband and I both enjoy cooking and we often have my mother-in-law eating with us too. We have our own lamb and swap meat with other local small holders. We also grow many of our own vegetables.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are experienced in teaching English. We enjoy country life and growing vegetables. We travel in the UK regularly and can take you to visit local places.
    Our children enjoy finding out about new places and cultures too.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week,

My Photo Album


Host ref number: 378658499581