Help with a sustainable material renovation near Faversham, England

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    11/07/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    57

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live alone with my Border Collie, Finlay. My home needs extensive renovation, which I'd like done using sustainable materials and as many ecologically sound principles as possible. I'm fairly laid back bt not particularly chatty. However, I'm very happy to hear and discuss the stories and ambitions of those that are currently stopping we me.

    I'm very new to Workaway, so still working out how it all works. I'll be adding photos and more descriptive details over the coming weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    This is a project to restore an older residential property and as well as some other activities, aiming to become more self sufficient. Activities will include (in no particular order).

    Re-roofing and converting 2 outhouses into 1 (will hopefully include a wooden framed extension).
    Maintaining summer house
    Re-planning and maintaining the garden, including hedges.
    Replacing a conservatory (in support of professional contractors).
    Painting and decorating.
    Floor and wall tiling
    Building joinery including window installation and stud walling
    Plaster and insulation board installation.
    Building a porch.
    Kitchen and bathroom installation.
    Laying a driveway and a patio.
    Setting up comms/entertainment wiring/ports.
    Small scale solar power projects.
    Rainwater collection and re-use.

    Not looking for anyone to cook and clean for me, although living in a shared environment requires everyone to clear up after themselves.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will have the opportunity to live and work in a semi rural location in SE England. My village is blessed with an adjacent ancient woodland and the coast is only a few miles away.
    Musicians and artists would be made particularly welcome. The house has guitars, a mandolin, a fiddle and a piano.

    Provision of decent bicycle will also be included. If you're particularly short or tall, it may take a little time to get something suitable sorted.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (but willing to try my very best with French and Italian)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A volunteer will have their own double room in a 4 bedroom house, which as already stated, is in a quiet semi rural village. The room will also included a fairly decent audio system, as I have an excessively large collection of hi-fi. There isn't a massive collection of books, but there's more than a few.
    Obviously, during the renovation process the house will be no show home, but it will it always be completely habitable and comfortable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The location is in rural village with less than 50 homes and a pub. Canterbury, Faversham and Whitstable are all within 8 miles. There is a bus service, but it isn't great. For complete freedom to get around, cycling would the best mode of transport, if you don't have your own motor vehicle. This part of Kent is well known for the historic city of Canterbury, extensive orchards, village greens and country pubs.

    Happy for volunteers to seek paid part-time work elsewhere to enhance their cultural experience and to obtain an income, so long as it wouldn't conflict with their Workaway obligations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 287799176952