Welcome to help us with our garden and general maintenance of our house in Nîmes, Southern France!

updated
Country

France

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    160

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome as a volunteer in our family ! We need help with general maintenance and gardening in a nice house with swimming pool located in Nimes, close to many cultural and natural spots.

    I am a paediatrician working in Nîmes, Nice and Sweden. I am specialized in child neurology and have a private practice in Nîmes. I am also head of medical development of an internet medicine company and I have to travel a lot (Nice, Sweden, different countries in Europe and cities in France). Sometimes I work from home.. My husband is a musician (organist) working in Sweden, thus traveling a lot between the countries, but most often at home. He works a lot from home when he is in France and is the one doing most in the garden. As we work a lot, and have a horse and 3 dogs to take care of, we need help with our big garden (3000 m2) and house. We own a horse, as our youngest son, Wilhelm (18) rides almost everyday and is on a riding teacher formation. Our 3 children live in our home: Alix (14), Wilhelm (18) and Maxance (24). Alix is a good singer, she plays theater and dances street dance. Maxance is at home after having spent years in Sweden and starting a new french life.

    We eat organic and most of the time vegetarian food. As we have many food allergies, we are used to serve special food for special needs. I, myself, cannot eat spices and many fruits and vegetables, although I don't eat animals neither ....

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak 3 languages (French, Swedish and English).

  • Help

    Help

    Dear volunteer ! We are a French-Swedish family living in a nice house located 15 min by walk from the center part of Nimes in Languedoc-Roussillon (Occitanie), Southern France. We would like to share our french and swedish cultures with you and learn from your culture, while getting some help from you refreshing some parts of the house (painting, arranging what needs to be arranged, cutting hedges, general seasonal gardening, planting shrubs, repairing broken parts of the house, building a compost, giving us ideas...etc !). In july we will arrange a big international party for our friends and we would need help before and during the party for preparing the garden and the party, for those interested in that kind of arrangements.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have acces to your own bedroom with bathroom in a separate little house in the garden, just by the swimming pool. We will share the rest of the house with you, in which you will be welcome and in which the internet access is easier.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in one of the most beautiful parts of France, with perfect climate, good food, easy going people, cultural spots spread around, nature (Camargues, Cévennes), 3,5 hours from Spain and Italy by car, 3 hours from Paris by train, 3 hours from mountain areas, 30 minutes from the mediteranean sea, 40 min from Pont du Gard, 20 minutes by walk to the best preserved arenas of the roman empire...etc. Many festivals can be found all around the year. We love our region and would be delighted to help you discover it !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week
















Host ref number: 183843355615