Help us out with our garden projects in in beautiful Masterton, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi workawayers, I'm Rosa and together with my Husband Corey and two little kids Serena and Frankie, we live on a sheep and beef farm in a beautiful area of the Wairarapa. We are located 15 minutes out of Masterton, a town of 25,000. The reason we want to become workaway hosts is to give us a hand with work around our backyard and garden. We are constantly trying to get garden projects underway, but find it challenging to keep momentum with busy farm and family life. We enjoy getting to know people from all over the world, and have enjoyed travelling to many places. We have been couchsurfers and then couchsurfing hosts.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about a typical way of farming life in New Zealand. We would want our workaways to have a fun experience while with us, soaking in any experience available.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have a large garden that requires maintenance and there are always little projects on the go. Workawayers don’t really need prior experience or lots of skills, as most of the work is pretty straight forward. If you’re comfortable with kids, there is sometimes also some childcare too. We like making the workawayers part of the family and having them integrate into our routines here, joining us for dinner and helping with a bit of food prep and dishes.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have just completed building a beautiful cottage/sleepout near our house. The workawayers will have this to themself. It has a queen bed, lounge area, small kitchen and bathroom. All meals are provided. Some will be self-catered and others will be joined with our family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of activities to do around the area, especially if you are interested in hiking, surfing, etc. We are only 1.5 hours to Wellington (train or drive) to experience city life. It would be advantageous to have a vehicle, to be independent while here. This would be suited to a single or a couple.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 576118355647

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Enjoy autumn at the seaside and help with building the interior of a tiny home in Christchurch, New Zealand
Enjoy the mountain views at our converted woodshed home in Kurow, New Zealand