Need some help starting up my own little farm thing on Crete 20 km south of Heraklion in a village called Choudetsi,

Favourited 400 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    95  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/05/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update: i am especially looking for someone responsible who would like to stay 2-3 months in the summer (or longer). When i may not be here all the time. If you are interested we can talk about it.

    I am starting up my own little organic farm thing, since 2015, on Crete after having travelled and volunteered three years myself.
    The place is an olive grove of 1,6 ha (4 acre) with about 220 olive trees. I have planted fruit trees and am making a vegetable garden. I have 6 hens and 2 roosters, 3 ducks and 5 geese. Here are also two dogs and a cat.

    The soil is very poor here and i'm trying to regenerate the soil by applying permaculture principles. Anyone with knowledge about this is always welcome.

    It is in a village called Choudetsi or Houdetsi, 20 km south of Heraklion. There is a lot of things to explore around. It's 5 min walk to a cafe with wifi, a bakery and a grocery store, and 10 min walk to the village square with several tavernas and cafes. Beautiful hiking routes as well.

    In the summer there are music seminars in the village, many international musicians, lots of people and free concerts every friday.

    I prefer last-minute travellers because very often those who write me far in advance tend to change their plans and cancel, but you can always try:)

    Shower is outside. In winter there will not be warm water every day but you can take a warm shower in the caravan if you preheat the water.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    In december it's olive harvest. Pruning is in early spring some time, depending on the weather.
    Other times of year it's garden work, cutting wood, soil regeneration works etc...
    + cooking and shopping for us of course:)

    This year i want to dig several swales (ditches along contour lines) and fill them with twigs and branches, so there will be a lot of manual digging. Further work is to complete a retaining wall out of used tyres up to my neighbours property, which is partly about to slide down onto mine. Further, there are always things to do in the summer.

    Hope to see you here:)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent: English, Norwegian, Slovakian. Less than fluent: German, French, Portuguese, Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two yurts and a caravan.

    The biggest yurt has a wood stove and a kitchen, common area. The smaller yurt has a double bed, two single mattresses and a gas heater. The caravan has a gas heater, beds for two and kitchen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album


















































Host ref number: 149465498826