Learn about growing vegetables and animal care for self sufficiency on an organic farm near Jönköping, Sweden

Favourited 159 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    28/10/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2016 was our first year with workaway. We had a wonderful time with wonderful peoples and learned a lot - even about ourselves.
    With this experiences we would like to continue with workawayers. So still we are looking for help for our very small permaculture self sufficiency farm in the East Vättern Scarp Landscape Biosphere Reserve, South of Sweden.
    We are just in the beginning of our transition from the earn money - buy things, into: earn fewer money - do not buy so many things.
    We (Robin, Petra and Mohammad) live in a huge house with our “boss”, the cat Sigge. Outside we are surrounded by goats, rabbits and hens. We are growing organic vegetables, we started to make biochar and we are trying to enhance biodiversity around us.
    We also renovate the house for may be to be bead&breakfast. Just now we use it by ourselves and for workawayers.
    Sometimes we have visitors who wants to know more about permaculture and gardening or the history of our place. Soon, our place will have a little biologic museum about experimental three development with hybrid aspen.
    We really like to sit down and eat together with workawayers and discuss thoughts about all items we can find. That makes all of us wiser.
    Welcome to contact us and please, ask questions!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We always need help with: clean up all branches that our goats have stripped off and make bio charcoal off it.
    Help us to grown vegetables and with all needs in the household. There is so much more: painting, replacing the roof of another building, fighting weed, building mobile hens house ...
    And meet our wonderfull animals Tuva the mind-reader, Sowilo the sun, Vynja the wild (the goats), Emil, Lilly and Sussi (the rabbits) and Erna our retired hen together with Elsa, Astrid, Ettan, Anita, Carla, Belle and the rooster Sverker.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, spanish, swedish, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a little village with four houses and great neighbors.
    You get your own room in the house we live in. We eat vegetarian season food, but we have meat in our freezer for guests. Normally we eat together with our guests and have discussions and a great time after the work is done.
    You can get a bus card to travel to next town. The bus stop is about 3.5 km from our house. You can also use one of our bicycles or we take a trip together by car.
    Sigge, the cat and boss, lives both inside and outside the house. That means we can not have guests bringing there own cat or dog whit them. Even the goats don’t like dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The biosphere reserve has lots of places to visit, like the lake Vättern, the island Visingsö and the picturesque town Gränna.
    You can go out for a walk in the forests around us or take a bath in the lake Landsjö down the hills. We live about 20 km from Jönköping, in the middle between Malmö in the South of Sweden and Stockholm, the capitel of Sweden.
    Or we can visit friends or neighbours for a cup of coffee or tea and only chat for a while. As you understand, this is no place for big party’s. Here you can hear nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Your can learn together with us to make biochar, how to grown organic vegetables, what is permaculture and how to take care of animals. We can discuss about live and what’s important, what counts?
    We can show you our countryside and the next town (20 km away).
    And - we are open for new peoples and cultures. Welcome!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

One of our wonderful workawayers took this picture from here window from here room.
There is always a cake closed by.
Some years ago ...
Room for more peoples.
Finally: the renovation of the hall is completed.
Livingroom
Soon its dinner!
Organic vegetables - last year.
Look back when you come up to us.
Farmworkers looking for slugs!!!
Sigge, the boss! And Evald, the tractor.
Spring-view from the balcony.
Tuva, the mystery goat. She read our mind.
The house in summer.







Host ref number: 141828261633