Come and help me to maintain and transform a beautiful estate in Småland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Svenja, but my friends call me Svez.
    I’m 48 years old and am a skilled DIY handywoman. I'm a very glad, independent, creative person and a proud mother of three grownup children.
    Over the last years I've been in Portugal, working as a volunteer on different Eco-projects, permaculture farms, natural building-sides and Eco-retreats.
    Now, back in Sweden with new knowledge and skills, and I'm happy to host my own volunteers to help me with some projects.

    I'm living and working on a big family owned estate.
    It's situated in the middle of Småland and covers over 1000 hectares, consisting of forestry, meadowland and farmland. It's a typical Swedish country estate with old houses and a beautiful view over the lake Nömmen.
    There are a few rental houses, one main building (the manor) and two detached wings. The houses are from the mid 18th century and are surrounded by a beautiful park setting, which is surrounded by fields, forrest and water.

    I'm working here for the owners of the estate as their caretaker, with loads of work ahead. I’m renting an old smithy which I’m planning to transfer into a ceramic-studio. There is so much work for me to do over the next month, that I really would need some helping hands.

    The main project for now is to help my son in law Max and my daughter Alina, to reconstruct their house ”Pallarp”.
    Just over two years ago Max bought this old house, which is located close by, seeing it’s potential even though it was in desperate need of a renovation. Since then he and my daughter Alina have moved in together and are currently living in one of the detached wings of the manor.
    They will begin their renovation at the start of April and I will help them.
    Towards the end of April, we’ll be working alongside a couple of carpenters. They’ll be doing work on the extension of the house, so putting concrete in for the floor, raising new walls and laying a new roof.
    Most the work that need to be done in the old part of the house, we’ll try to do ourselves, and that’s where YOU come in.
    The plan is to put in new structures for the flooring and for the walls, the whole outside panelling of the house will be stripped down and replaced with new panels after being insulated. Also, the old windows will be replaced.
    So, we would prefer volunteers who have some carpentry skills along with some knowledge of such renovations.
    The house is situated just a two-minute drive from the estate.

    Projects on Pallarp (help needed from May till July on Max and Alinas behalf)
    - New structures for the floors and walls
    - Removing the outside panels
    - Fixing the Insulation
    - Putting up new panels
    - Replacing the windows
    - Landscaping
    - Starting a veggie-garden
    - Building a chicken-house and pen

    Projects on the estate: (help needed from May to October on my and the owners behalf)
    - Starting a veggie-garden
    - Renovating a chicken-house
    - Building a jetty
    - Fixing some roofs
    - Renovating the old manor
    - Maintaining the cottages
    - Helping out with the rentals and annual events (airsoftgun, jeep-meetings, crayfishing)
    - Gardening
    - Landscaping
    - Establishing a ceramic-studio
    - Doing some animal-care


    To help me with the huge amount of work here, I would need you to have some experience and skills in building, woodwork, renovations and repairs, so you have to know how to handle tools and machines.
    I'm more than happy to teach all I can and excited to learn from you.

    As I am easy to be and work with, like teamwork and fair play, I'd like you to be too.
    I need people that I can rely on while working together or left to their own tasks. So people who check their Facebook or take breaks for a puff every 10 minutes, while I'm standing on a ladder, really don't fit in.
    I need responsible people with good attitudes around me, who are not afraid of work.
    To help me to do some errands, you'll need to have a driving licence too.

    You’ll work 5 hours a day and 5 days a week. Starting at 9 am, having a short coffee-break and lunch together and knock off at 3pm.
    Some days can require more hours of work, and in that case we arrange a longer weekend for you. Even if I may continue working every day, I don't expect you to.

    If you’d like, you can sleep in a nice single room in the house of Alina and Max, with your own bathroom (toilet and shower) or you can sleep in my van which is parked nearby the smithy on a patch of green, close to a small toilet-shower-facility. For those who come in their own van or tent, we’ll find a nice space for you.

    We cook and socialise in the smithy. There's a small kitchen, a big dining table and living space with sofa and open fireplace.

    I offer mainly vegetarian food but cannot cater for vegans. I'm a good cook and I really hope you can cook too!

    In your spare time you can jump into the lake, go fishing, canoeing, go for long walks, relax or do whatever you'd like to.
    The bus-stop to reach the next bigger towns is close by.
    There is even a boat or some bicycles to borrow if you want to reach the closest shop, where you can buy food, icecream and bits and bobs, which is about 4km away.
    The area surrounding Rödjenäs is of great natural beauty and offers a variety of walks and cycle paths.

    To mention some of our neighbours (most of them are at work every day), there is Ivar (90+) who is living with his dog Viktor in the manor, there is Peter his son the engineer, who is living with his cat in his little cottage down by the lake, there are Max and Alina who are living with their bunny Peanuts in one of the wings, and there is me and my dog Odin, living in my old Mercedes-van which is parked nearby the smithy.

    As a person I’m joyful, open-minded, have an open ear, and a warm heart. I like good talks about everything and nothing.
    I feel big love and respect for mother earth so I’m a real treehugger, trying to make the smallest footprint as possible. I am trying to be as eco as I can, eat a vegetarian diet, recycle as much as possible, grow things and make my own care-products from nature.
    Otherwise I love to travel, make artwork, build, fix and repair things, listen to music, do Yoga, cook, go fishing, camping, canoeing, diving, climbing and riding my motorbike.

    Are you the one I’m looking for?
    Please send me a message.

    Yours sincerely,
    Svez


    Requirements
    Some skills with tools and machines
    Driving licence
    Travel- or health insurance
    Animal loving heart

    Minimum stay 1 week (let’s-try-eachother-out-week)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn Swedish, German, eco-farming, pottery, wood- and artwork, fishing and much more

  • Help

    Help

    You need you to have some experience and skills in building, woodwork and renovation and know how to handle tools and machines.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in the smithy or if you prefer more privacy, you can sleep in a tent.
    For those who come in their own van, we'll find a parking space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lake nearby
    Woods are surrounding the property
    The bus-stop is close by
    Boat or bicycle to borrow

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 725351513162