Xavier

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antarctica, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Egypt, Greenland, Madagascar, Mexico, Namibia, Nepal, Turkmenistan, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/12/2018 - 24/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello Citizen of the blue planet !
    My name is Xavier, I am a 30 year old engineer from France specialised in thermal performance of buildings ( the guy who try to save the planet in a big company who try to make money with it, it ‘s me !).

    I am also travel addicted and need to cure myself as often as work allow me to do so. I did a couple of workaway experiences and a lot of volunteering / help exchange using other websites. Anyway, that is how I found myself building an ecological sustainable, character filled straw bale house in a national park in Australia, that’s how I had the opportunity to work on a dinosaur’s dorsal vertebra in a prehistoric museum. Another project saw me discovering the beautiful Whitsundays islands while working on a boat. I did some « work camps » in Iceland (hundreds of volunteers coming to work on different cultural an environmental topics) as a volunteer and as a camp leader. I volunteered in Kenya where I took a census of monkeys and various bird species. I also joined in activities surrounding a school for refugees. Two years ago I worked in a gear camp in Mongolia. I worked in some other places around the world, building fences with aborigenal people, helping marocan women in a very tinny village, farming in Greece, working in hostels, restaurants, mooving furnitures, sorting macadamia nuts, etc.

    I am not the « I need my comfort, beaches and tequila sunrise » kind of tourist but more someone trying to experience a country by living with the inhabitants and being part of a project. It has been my privilege to not only take away wonderful memories of these amazing locations but, hopefully, to have also added something.

    I am having a year off again for the next big project : the panamerican road, from Ushuaia to the top of Alaska. I will moove slowly, helping around, and I am looking for people willing to share with me their project, their life style, their culture, their landscapes and some good fun !

    I am an hard worker and a quick learner. Try me !

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I learn quick and I am an hardworker as I need to feel usefull, feeling involved in a meaningfull project is a need in my life
    Construction skills
    Environmental / ecological / sustainable development / energy knowledge (as part of my job)
    Happy with physical work
    Teaching
    Social skills

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Italian, trying to quickly learn spannish !

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    I love nature and can spend hours looking at a tree or searching for animals,
    I love hiking and photography

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

maryau


Photos

Feedback