Tami & Philippe

  • Israel
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Denmark - from Jun 2024 until Aug 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Hello Workaway hosts and thank you for reading our profile 🙏

    We are heading for Denmark and Ireland this summer, but we are already "booked" for the whole period in both countries.

    Tami is a carpenter, working and teaching carpentry for adults and children, in the carpentry I set up. I have good hands and a technical sense (which I inherited for sure from my father :-)) I studied design and craftsmanship, and experienced a lot of arts and crafts over the years, glass, and paper, weaving and embroidery, upholstery and furniture renovation.
    I have a lot of experience working with children: summer camps and children's classes in art and carpentry that I have taught over the years.

    Philippe grew up in France and moved to Israel as an adult. I presently divide my time between two activities: designing and building irrigation systems, a skill that I acquired partly during my farming years, partly when completing a formal irrigation course, and in winter the emphasis is more on carpentry (building or renovating furniture), a skill that I learned mostly from Tami. Being involved in the ecological movement, I studied and practiced traditional organic baking in France, organic agriculture and ecological building. I practice sailing, hiking, road biking, and I enjoy cultural events such as music (classical and jazz), art exhibition and museums. I love baking bread with sourdough, cooking, making jams...

    We both spent several years on a kibbutz in southern Israel, worked in agriculture and gardening, and to this day gardening is a big love. We spend most of our free time planting, pruning and especially pouring love on the plants, checking on them every morning.

    We both are easygoing and hardworking, not spoiled, love to meet new people and places, foods, customs, cultures, and would love to be a guest and contribute to your place.

    Last year we've traveled extensively through the US, Canada, Mexico, the Azores Islands, France, Finland and Norway. We had fantastic Workaway experiences and worked on numerous projects, from building a large deck, repairing furniture, building gates for sheeps, taking care of chicken, gardening and many others.

    Please take a look at Tami's Facebook page you will find beautiful pictures of our journey.


  • Interests

    Plant care
    Cooking & food
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Sailing / Boating
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Yoga / Wellness
    Fashion or beauty
    Performing arts
    Art & design

    show more
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Carpentry, gardening, irrigation, organic agriculture, tractor& forklift operator, art instruction for children and adults, maintenance (paint jobs, basic electricity and plumbing) furniture renovation, ecological building, cooking (bread baker, jams...), creating Excel spreadsheets

  • Age

    59 & 68

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats. Usually can deal with one cat in the house, as long as it has no access to the bedroom

    • Special dietary requirements
      Veggetarian. We eat fish, eggs, cheese, honey and everything else.