Marisa

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2021 - 01/04/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    209

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    My name is Marisa, I'm originally from New Jersey, and I just finished my Master's degree in Philosophy!

    The two loves of my life are academic philosophy and travel; unfortunately these two things pair rather poorly. Over the last two years, while spending 8-12 hours a day sitting at a desk working on my coursework and thesis, I often found myself surfing Workaway and daydreaming about a year-long backpacking adventure in South America. Prior to starting my Master's, I spent a magical year in Southeast Asia, teaching, volunteering, learning about permaculture, and seeing as many things as possible. This experience taught me independence, patience, courage, and humility; and it whet my desire to see as much of the world as possible.

    I was devastated and lost once it sunk in that Covid-19 would prevent me from taking the ultimate break from academic life and backpacking across South America before applying to Ph.D programs. However, I am hoping that things will be a bit safer in the coming year and I'd like to post up in one country--namely, Costa Rica--for a while, rather than backpacking through many.

    Grad school is not known for being a healthy environment; but because it was so challenging to take care of my mind and body while immersed in my work, it has become my number one priority. Over the course of the last three years, I have been doing yoga three days a week and begun learning how to cook healthy meals. I especially enjoy the challenge of vegan cooking and trying recipes from around the world (I make mean Thai and Indian curries!) I would like to start meditating outside my yoga practice, keeping a gratitude journal, practicing loving-kindness with greater intention, and being more mindful about my use of technology for entertainment. I would love to be surrounded by people with similar interests who'd be willing to share their experience.

    My primary Workaway goals are to challenge myself, learn some new skills, meet new people, and share in some wonderful new experiences with them. I'm also eager to share my love of philosophy with anyone who is interested.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    General:

    --Work ethic: I'm a hard worker who likes to take time to do things right.
    --Communication skills: I consider open and honest communication a skill that is always in the process of acquisition.
    --Organizational skills: I can manage my time well and pay attention to detail when cleaning or organizing things
    (which is one of my favorite things to do!)
    Critical Thinking skills: Being able to think critically is the source of my creativity, my problem solving skills, and my overall flourishing as a human being.
    --Compassion: My favorite philosopher considers compassion the only morally valuable incentive because it is evidence of the truth that the individual is an illusion, that we are all one, and the suffering of another is your suffering as well.


    Volunteer:

    --Teacher's Assistant at Astor Head Start (Poughkeepsie, NY)
    --Teacher's Assistant as Holy Trinity School (Poughkeepsie, NY)
    --ESL Tutor for Adults at a language center (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)
    --ESL Teacher at a Montessori pre-school (Hanoi, Vietnam)

    Work Experience:

    --Intro. to Philosophy and Critical Thinking Instructor at Georgia State University
    --Research Assistant at Georgia State University
    --Online ESL teacher
    --ESL high school teacher (in Thailand)
    --Editorial intern for two publishing houses
    --Camp counselor
    --Hostess at a diner
    --Babysitter

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I love to read poetry, fiction, and philosophy. My favorite contemporary fiction authors are Tom Robbins, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Khaled Hosseini and my favorite classic is probably Atlas Shrugged. I've also been enjoying the poems of Rumi lately. In the past I've enjoyed reading social and political philosophy, namely feminist philosophy (I highly recommend Kate Manne's "Down Girl: The Logic of Misogyny"), but I would like to read more critical race theory. My current work centers on some feisty 19th century German philosophers, particularly a little known pessimist by the name of Schopenhauer and his far better known successor and overlooked optimist, Nietzsche.

    Also, I love animals!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, but I am willing to be flexible for the duration of my stay! I don't want to be a burden and am appreciative of your willingness to let me into your life!

Photos

Feedback