Sanjey

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (4)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their friend list private.

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Thailand - from Dec 2021 until Apr 2022
    View all
  • Description

    I would describe myself as a wanderer, someone who wishes for nothing more than the freedom to explore. I see myself as a small part of a very big universe. I am privileged to be able to travel and I recognize that, and am grateful for what I am bestowed with. In a world that seems to very randomly assign privilege, and rarely in a fair or just fashion, it is up to each human being to sense their position of privilege and make the most of it. I want to learn what I can from my travels, to learn the lessons that different cultures have passed down through time. I believe that all of us share common values and by immersing one's self in a different culture, one will learn that humans are not all that different from each other. Everyone brings something of value to the table, and by sharing our experiences with one another we are given the opportunity to learn and to grow. Workaway gives me the perfect opportunity to learn from humanity. Each experience gives me the chance to meet someone new, and allows me to take something away from their culture or lifestyle that adds new meaning to my life. It is not only interaction with new lifestyles and cultures that sparks new growth in us, but also encountering the natural beauty of each country. Nothing humbles me as much as the sight of natural beauty, in an undisturbed state. Too often in cities we forget our place, and I believe that it is only when we leave the human world that we find ourselves truly.
    I have received so much over the course of my travels that I see now that there is no way to pay any of it back, I can only pay it forward by giving freely what I have received, a reason to believe in innate human goodness.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I am quick to learn new tasks and am willing to work hard to earn my keep. I can work well with tourists and help manage small teams. From recent workaway experiences, I can also say confidently that I can work with my hands to do physical labor and can learn to perform tasks with minimal supervision. I am also good with animals, both husbandry and pets. I am computer literate, and will be able to assist with basic computer tasks such as using microsoft word, excel, powerpoint for organizational or data management purposes. I have a basic level of experience with power tools.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Tamil: Fluent
    Hindi: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I hope to one day create something that will benefit more than just me, and to use my position of privilege to give back what I can, through education and empowerment, to those who lack the tools to better themselves . In the meantime, I value opportunities, and conversations that will help me learn and understand how to properly do so.

    I partially manage a small farm in India, and am also keen to learn more about sustainable practices and permaculture. The goal of my style of farming is not necessarily how to maximize the production of a particular crop or in monocultures but rather to maximize the diversity in a small space and to learn how to develop each type of natural resource to it's maximum potential while working in close equilibrium with the land.

    My understanding of these areas, social and ecological, is still in its infancy and so whether you are a fellow workawayer or a host I would value your counsel and input in these areas that are born of your experiences in life.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback