Live in the wilderness and volunteer in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 403 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I write this on mid May 2020. I just want to say that I am still accepting volunteers who have been careful during the virus outbreak. I have had two from England and four from Germany (all of whom wintered in Canada.). When they arrive, we isolated for 2 weeks. But this is an easy place to self-isolate as we have the great outdoors to spread around in.
    I will be taking the next batch of volunteers on 29 May. I will meet them in Williams Lake, BC, my nearest big town and Volunteers must have their own vehicle as due to current situation it is not possible to share a car with strangers for 3 and half hours - also, public transport is not running.
    Work is firewood, gardening and construction.
    Good luck to all you travellers out there.

    I am 72 I was born in England, have lived in the Canadian wilderness for 40 years. I have built cabins alone. I am also an artist and a writer, and have had many books about my wilderness life published. I have hosted many volunteers over twenty-five years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    45 years ago I worked my way round the world before Workaway was invented. I empathize with like-minded travellers and we can learn from each other.

  • Help

    Help

    Help is gardening, firewood, and carpentry. This is a remote area close to nature, and there are a lot of spectacular places to see. Season most years is late March to October or November. Both these times depend on how much snow is on the ground.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In a cabin or yurt usually, but if the accommodation is crowded, a tent is used for overflow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is not always possible to give volunteers half a days' work so I tell everyone to work half the time: in other words, work one day and take a day off; or work 4 days and take 4 days off. This is ideal for people who like to explore. Lots of hiking opportunities in spectacular mountains, and some wildlife viewing; notably bears in spring and fall.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    half a day - can be accumulative

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

































Host ref number: 9663757464b7