Lissa & Marcus

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    New Zealand - from Nov 2022 until May 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hello and thank you for taking a look at our profile! We are Lissa and Marcus, a laid back couple from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. We've spent the past 10 years working to travel and have found that work exchange gives our adventures purpose and allows us to dig deeper into our surroundings. Our hope is to familiarize ourselves with a new part of the world while living with locals and helping them reach their goals.

    We like to spend most of our free time outdoors enjoying water sports such as swimming, diving and fishing, as well as hiking as often as possible. Indulging in new cuisines is also exciting for us and we have fun searching for local eateries, browsing markets and cooking at home.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Culture
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Marcus currently works as the lead dockhand at a marina. Previously he was the plant manager of a plastic recycling center where he worked for 5 years. Some of his responsibilities included sorting material, running heavy machinery and keeping the shop clean and organized. He is capable of operating a forklift. He has also had experience working as a landscaper, in a greenhouse and in restaurants/stores. Marcus enjoys physical labor and takes pride in completing his work in the most efficient way possible. He is always open to learning new trades.

    Lissa has worked various jobs in the service industry for the past 10 years, most recently as a barista. She excels doing tedious work such as deep-cleaning and organizing and in the past has been responsible for cleaning multiple houses per week. Lissa is happiest in a garden and would love to learn from others with knowledge in permaculture and sustainability. She is creative and happy to assist with projects.

    We both appreciate a more structured work environment where we begin each day with expectations. We are confident in our abilities to complete tasks independently and efficiently with a bit of initial instruction from our host.

    We both love to work outside and have taken part in many harvest seasons, gardening duties and general maintenance projects throughout our travels. We are happy to help in the kitchen with cooking and cleaning, and would relish the opportunity to learn local recipes from our host. We are big animal lovers and have plenty of experience pet/house sitting.
    We also have a trusted house sitters profile with reviews/references:

    https://www.trustedhousesitters.com/house-and-pet-sitters/united-states/wisconsin/milwaukee/l/197882/

    Check out our Airbnb profile: https://www.airbnb.com.au/users/show/27413364

    Please take a look at our workaway reviews to see what projects we have helped with in previous travels.

  • Age

    28 & 30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback