Charlotte

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/07/2020 - 01/10/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Charlotte (67 years old, but don't be put off by my age! I'm energetic, youngish and fun).
    I'm a writer (among others: children's cookbooks and parenting book) and children and youth coach.
    For seventeen years I have been the manager of a children's restaurant in Amsterdam, so working with kids and cooking are two of my specialties.

    My three grown-up children are all studying and working.
    I'm partly retired and that's why I want to travel and work as a volunteer.

    I love to read books, cook, work outside, help with plans and projects (brainstorm, coming up with ideas, realizing ideas), work with kids, animals, knit, sew, craft, sing and play the guitar. I like to do a variety of things during the day. So if you need somebody to garden all day, or clean your house, I'm not the person you are looking for.

    All my life I have travelled, mainly to meet people and learn about their way of life and cultures and I also have done a lot of voluntary work in West Africa, Bali and the Netherlands. That's what I want to find in Workaway: exchanging our cultures, getting to know you, other volunteers and exchanging ideas and values.

    You can count on me as a hardworking person, sociable and I love to be on myself (so you don't have to feel responsible to entertain me all the time!) or with others.
    I love doing all kinds of odd jobs, also tasks I never did before, because I like learning new skills. And I'm very quick in settling myself in, seeing what is necessary to do, taking initiative but also following instructions.

    Look at my websites to get an impression what I do and what I'm like: www.stichtinglot.org
    www.charlottekindercoaching.nl www.charlottejongerencoaching.nl (Sorry, all in Dutch!)
    Or read my blog about my travels with Workaway: https://kookologie.blogspot.com/2019/03/my-travels-with-workaway.html

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Tourism:
    I've had my own travel agency so I know what tourists like and need. Also my own experience with traveling can be of great help.

    Cooking and running a restaurant:
    I've run a restaurant for children and I give cooking classes and love to cook at home for groups of friends. So if you need help in your house, hotel or restaurant, I love to cook and share recipes . I did Workaway on a farm with accommodation and I served the guests, make them feel welcome and introduced some of my favorite recipes (Godlike chocolate tart!).
    I also played my guitar and sang for the guests, which they loved.

    Crafting and sewing:
    I'm very good in sewing, so if you need new curtains or if you want to do something on your interior (I love painting walls and pimping rooms), or clothes for your kids, I can help. At my Workaway I made aprons for the staff and repaired the sheets and pillowcases. I'm very creative and can do all kinds of crafting with your kids.

    Ordening:
    I'm good at ordening rooms and cupboards. At my Workaway I ordered the pantry and some cupboards.

    Teaching and coaching:
    I've been a teacher, so I can teach children and adults. Or if you need help for your kids to be more confident, or not afraid anymore or something else I can coach with, I would love to do that. I gave English classes in Sri Lanka and me and the kids had a lot of fun together!

    Writing and blogging or help with website:
    I'm a writer (childrens' cookbooks, craftbooks and parenting books) and I blog about education. I can help you with your website. And if you work in Wordpress I can help you to upload text and photo's. If you need texts for marketing or website I can help you with that. I have my own blog, so I can blog about your project or I can help you with (starting) your own blog. In Sri Lanka I wrote a cookbook together with some other Workawayers: a very talented designer and two native english speakers who did the english editing. I edited the recipes and wrote some of them.

    Playing the guitar:
    I can bring my guitar and play and sing. I can teach your children songs and I can play for you and your guests.

    Fundraising and charity work:
    I've raised funds for projects in Holland, Indonesia, Mali, Burkino Faso and Ghana. So I can help you with writing proposals and finding funds for your charity work. I did a lot of charity work in Holland: with refugees, children and teaching people to cook, helping foreigners to learn the language. So I know the do's and don'ts of charity work.
    In Workaway Uganda I fundraised for the furniture for a new school and a waterproject, and built a natural playground.

    Brainstorming about new projects, ideas:
    I have always done my own projects, realizing my own ideas, running my own business, so I love brainstorming with you about new plans, and projects and how to realize them.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Indonesian: Beginner

  • Age

    67

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

These are some of the aprons (and many more) I made at my Workaway in South Africa.
This was my last day in Burkina Faso where one of my jobs was making an Arboretum. They named one of the trees after me(!) Charlotis Rapidus Magnificus!
Planting broccoli etc at an organic farm in Tokushima (Japan)
On my days off I hitchhiked in Japan.
In Uganda we had to search for water every day. Sometimes the tabs were dry, but my association financed a waterproject, so now my hosts have water next to their house and the school.
This was in Mutoto with Kate and Jeremiah and their project Mother's Heart Uganda.
I was working in a beautiful garden in Sicily. Weeding, digging brambles etc
Making jam from Loquats from the trees in the garden in Sicily
Me and "my children" from the Ralapanawa school.

Feedback