updated  

Help me with DIY at an old house in Kalavan village in the Gegharkunik province of Armenia

  • Favourited 42 times
  • Last activity: 20 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I'm Gregory, an American author and international traveler who has been refurbishing an old house in Kalavan village in the Gegharkunik province of Armenia, located less than an hour from Dilijan and Ijevan. I would now like to continue establishing The Kalavan Retreat Center as a thriving community model for extended stays from locals and foreigners alike who seek the freedom to live as they want.

    Qualities we are looking for:
    — Open-minded and eager to learn.
    — Brave enough to stand up for unconventional choices in the face of social shame and ridicule.
    — Concerned about the social, cultural, and economic problems plaguing humanity, particularly Armenia.
    — Value freedom, self-expression, and independence—not just for yourself but for everyone.
    — Good self-managers who don’t need to be told what to do all the time and can always find a productive way to contribute.
    — Courteous, communicative, and determined to become the best, most fully expressed version of who they are.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a great deal about business, economics, the English language, and overcoming cultural limitations among rural Armenians to bring development to remote locations. I am an author on many of these subjects, and my intention is for my house to be a beacon and safe haven for freethinkers in Armenia. I've learned over the last five years of living here how many people feel suppressed living here and are seeking a place to get away from coercive expectations. I want to be one of the first organizations in Armenia actively offering them that opportunity.

  • Help

    Help

    I need creative and organized people who can help make the house cleaner and more beautiful, including the outdoor areas. Use your imagination. There's a lot the right people can contribute to what I've started here. I'd like it to become a fully functional guesthouse and retreat center for personal development among Armenians. I could also use help from people experienced in social media and marketing to help build an online brand presence for the village and my house on sites like Facebook, Youtube, and Instagram.

    Recently, we've started planning to use earthbag construction to build some small homes on the upper part of the property. If you have experience building with earthbags or similar techniques, please let me know.

    We are also now planting vegetables in our greenhouses, which we would like to expand and even eventually set up an in door hydroponic system for growing all year.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Armenian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a globally experienced English teacher. My last book, Our Global Lingua Franca (), is all about common flaws in the way we teach and try to learn English. If you stay in my house, I will certainly be quick to correct all your small English mistakes and help you gain a more dynamic command of the language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a comfortable bed and access to the whole house, including kitchen, outdoors, office, and two bathrooms. Meals are provided.

    Bonus: My house now hosts the first convenience store in Kalavan. You won't have to drive back into town every time you want to buy simple food ingredients, cigarettes, etc. It's small for now, but the inventory is always expanding.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can help arrange transportation in and out of the village as necessary as well as procuring any other comforts for living here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I was a digital nomad for many years and have traveled to more than 50 countries. My house has good wifi through Vivacell. There are occasionally short power outages during bad weather, but the wifi has a battery backup.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a long driveway, a gated area behind my house, and a roofed garage.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have four cats and a friendly dog living in the house with me. As long as your pets are fine around other animals, they are welcome here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 998775142722

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Help us run our NGO hostel and projects in Northern Armenia