Gardening & help building a timber frame pergola in interior British Columbia



Favourited 43 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    I live with my cat and dog, on 40 acres, within a community of like minded folks. I am still working on my house, though it is mostly finished and quite comfortable. It is an alternative construction using recycled tires and was inspired by the Earthship ideas.

    I garden organically and am learning about permaculture and am applying that to my place.

    I also have a business in the town of Lillooet, a Wellness Centre, so I work at home on my place and in town, which is about a 30 minute drive.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Help


    I am currently looking for help with gardening with weeding and planting of small trees, as well as small projects to get things ready for winter. I have a nice building project that involves framing up a few walls which I would love some help with as well... as well as a more challenging post and beam porch/roof deck. I am looking a pergola designs. I have the timbers and the posts... so help lifting and moving them and working on them would be great. Experience with such things would be an asset.
    I can offer a nice room, or cabin to stay in and food. Help with cooking and tidying is also greatly appreciated.
    Hope you are having a nice time travelling.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I have a guest cabin, as well as a room in the house if that works better.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is little public transportation to Lillooet, so having a vehicle is helpful, though, it maybe possible to pick you up at the bus, which is Pemberton or Lytton.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day , average

Host ref number: 387826595834