Join our family based mini-ecovillage, bee-project and digital design challenges in Ås, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    !!!!!
    For many of you it may be difficult to come in these crazy times. However, we have managed to get in workawayers from EU countries as late as November, and we can provide quarantine on our property, with your own cabin etc. see more info below.
    Also, as we work with herbal preparation and energy medicine, we provide a safe space for health.
    !!!!

    Family based mini-ecovillage. Three generations, working together with like-minded neighbours with spiritual orientation. All is tiny but developed with our own hands: garden terraces, log cabins, animal houses (chickens, ducks, rabbits, a dog and a cat) - and first of all: the bees! Our courses for sustainable beecare are known in the country.
    At the same time we have a number of digital projects: product design and webdesign for our homemade preparations, newsletters and social media activities, photo and video documentation etc. We are creative minds and we love to see others blossom in their creativity - so come along with your art projects!

    In short: We think very globally and are very widely connected - but in our daily work we practice the small steps of "living the good life"...


    more specifics:

    - WHAT IS NEEDED
    >> At any time:
    - building, maintenance, repair
    - Design work, Webdesign, Computer support, marketing through the web and social media, help with finding pictures and design elements for websites, facebook etc – a good playground for creative minds!
    - Computer wizards warmly welcome (graphic design, webdesign, database etc)
    - Skilled carpenters always welcome.

    General
    --- Working in small group of max 3
    --- Housing in individual cabins

    > We need to count on your engagement and flexibility - due to work peaks, timelines and weather conditions – while you can count on us when it comes to learning resources and inspiring new concepts.

    ! Be aware that this is not a real farm. No big scale farmland with grains and the like. In a way we are all training for bigger projects to come (ecovillage spiritual farming community) - and in the meantime we are working as intensely as possible with the little exquisite gem of a garden-forest-lake-landscape.


    ----
    specific projects:
    DIGITAL PROJECTS (winter and all year)
    • Graphic design and product development: Flower Essences.
    • Website development: WordPress (5 different sites)
    • Webshop development: WooCommerce
    • Social media: Facebook, telegram etc.
    • Newsletter design: running and developing our newsletters with a good mix of course info, fun news, food for thought and product news
    • Database: Developing an Access database of our contacts and products (the groundwork is already done)

    DIY AND CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS
    • General maintenance: fixing things in the house, carpentry, electro etc.
    • Tiny house: Build a cabin on wheels for visitors and helpers.
    • Geodome: Build a geodome greenhouse and a a geodome visitor house.
    • Seminar house: Help build an all wood log cabin type with many details of ecological building. (only summer months)
    • Help to build a (permaculture) visitors house and geodome greenhouse, wood gardening. (only summer months)

    GARDEN and NATURE PROJECTS (ca from April through October)
    • BeeKeeping: our neighbor Ingelin runs a training in natural beekeeping on a spiritual basis (see beedynamic.no). She is a great teacher! Check also her dedicated Workaway entry!
    • Treecare
    • Seminar house: Help build an all wood log cabin type with many details of ecological building. (only summer months)


    Are you a professional gardener? a trained permaculturist? - We know quite a bit about biodynamic agriculture, but can certainly learn from a professional Gardener. And we will be happy to give you your own space to develop your creative ideas!

    Are you an IT specialist? We will be happy to give you the space to manifest your competence in special projects.



    Accomodation:

    Cabins in the garden, 5 to 40 meters away from the main house: Two log cabins, one strawbale cabin.
    The kitchen and the bathroom is shared for us all in the main house, besides there is an outdoor compost "panorama toilet" with scenic view of the lake ;)

    !!!!
    Regarding Coronoia regulations:
    check updates here:
    All the information is on the government websites
    !!!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multi-cultural family and an even more multi-cultural neighbourhood. We speak three languages on a daily basis, and three more when needed. We come from very varied backgrounds, combining practical work (gardening, beecare, building) with engagement for ecology and natural medicine.

  • Help

    Help

    Can be very varied. Garden, house, design, arts and crafts.... we are trained cooks ourselves but also like to let others show their skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Russian: Intermediate
    Greek: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    individual cabins in indyllic garden landscape sloping towards a lake. Running water and bathroom in the main house. We eat meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Most of our friends and visitors like to stroll around in the forests, visit the waterfall, mountainbike, swim or kayak in the lake (resp. go skating and skiing in the winter). But on a day off, also a visit to Oslo (30 minutes by bus or car) is an easy option.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have cabled internet (based on a high-speed 4G antenna). for 2021, ultra high speed fiberoptics internet is announced - we`ll see when that comes... and we are very grateful for help with -websites -webshop -graphic design of products and info material

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    loads of free parking space everywhere

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    ...as long as they are good friends with our cat, dog, chickens, rabbits, ducks...

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 997713387637