Family stay helping with kids and pets in the Wicklow Mountains, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 919 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Franco-American family and have twin toddlers. We breed Morgan horses (148 cm)
    Our stud is on 35 acres in the Wicklow mountains.
    We have trainees and employees who live on the farm with us.
    We have ponies, large dogs and cats. Volunteers who have experience with horses have the opportunity to ride.
    We have a good team together and the friendly atmosphere is very important to us. We want our volunteers to be a part of the family.
    We love to cook and eat. We are not vegetarian but welcome vegetarian volunteers (sorry no vegans).
    We are not smokers and do not accept smokers in our home.
    We are not well suited for volunteers who are volunteering as a cost efficient way to travel around Ireland. We are however a good fit for volunteers who want to improve their language skills and be part of a horsey family in Ireland for a few months.
    For those with interest in riding there are opportunities to improve your horsemanship and riding. We are passionate about breeding and love to share our passion.
    We are planning to relocate in the spring and would welcome volunteers who could assist with the big move.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very international host family (French, American and German) and we are interested in sharing experiences. Spending time in our home volunteers will have an opportunity to improve their English and their horsemanship and riding skills. We organize family outings to show volunteers local sights (Hill of Tara, Glendalough, etc) and experience typical Irish events (RDS Horse show, Punchestown racing festival, etc)

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome volunteers who are interested in helping with our kids and pets.
    Volunteers are encouraged to - under supervision - ride the horses. We cannot cater to volunteers who are not experienced with horses and dogs.
    Volunteers are expected to participate in family life including cleaning their own room and bathroom and assisting in light cleaning of the shared spaces. This includes setting the table, doing dishes, putting away shopping, minding the children, walking the dogs, etc...).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English & German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a very large room with ensuite bathroom in our home (shared with at maximum two other girls). Sorry but we do not have the facilities to accommodate families, couples or men. All accommodation is well furnished, has internet access (including Netflix) and TV. We take meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 44 km from Dublin city Center. We live in a beautiful but very rural area.
    Dublin is about 1 hour by bus and we are happy to take volunteers to the bus stop once a week (bus stop is 10/15 min drive from our home).
    We only take volunteers for periods of one month minimum as it takes a bit of time to get used to the routine and to really fit in the team.
    The team ranges from 18 to 52 in age.
    We usually have a team of 1 or 2 volunteers living with us (in addition to our employee who is 23).
    We do not accept couples or multiple volunteers travelling together as we found that it makes integration in the team harder.
    We are native French, English and German speakers so there is plenty of opportunity to improve languages skills.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)
















































Host ref number: 997427469934