updated  

Come and help in a natural paradise in Cartagena, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 815 times
  • Last activity: 05/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Availability : as from end of February, beginning of March.

    We are ecologists. We own a 30000 m2 property on the Costa Cálida south east of Spain at one km from the sea in the heart of a protected regional park. We are naturists. The property is really calm and idealic. It is a paradise.

    We have wonderful dogs, very playful, a lot of energy and love to give. They are great. They love to have a walk at the mountain or play at the beach.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are using the workaway system because we would like people to get to learn how to live with little impact on the environment, respect environment, animals even insects (although we are not so friendly with flies!). Here you will learn how every animal is important, how to reduce your impacts and still be happy (even more). I meditate every day so you may meditate with me if you wish.

    Our place is excellent for watching animals. I can share my little knowledge of it.

    It might not be the best place if you want to learn Spanish though. We usually end up speaking the language in which you are most likely to understand. As misunderstandings lead to things done in the wrong way. I would love to learn portuguese though.

    Cultural sharing is important, for both sides as we also learn from our workawayers. Should you just be interested in cheap holidays, this is not the place for you. It takes time to share knowledge, this is why short stays don't make sense.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly sharing all our daily tasks:
    - gardening with us, learning about local species, invading species, how to best respect and preserve the surrounding nature;
    - learning the use of our compost;
    - participate in the maintainance of dry walls (as local cultural heritage). If the situation arise that we are doing this during your stay, you can participate. Should you have experience in this, please mention it when you contact us)
    - sharing the house cores (cleaning).
    - sharing the maintenance of the house (which does not require qualifications).
    - walk the dogs together
    - we sometimes participate in ecological actions organized by local environmental associations (removing plastics from beaches, reforestation project). If your stay coincides with one of this project, you will be invited to join in.
    - Your stay might also coincides with some solidarity actions towards animal rescuing. We are not in association but we are sometimes involved in such unpredictible situations.
    - you will be asked to recycle your trash. If you think climate change is a myth, it is preferable for both parts that you look for another place to stay.

    Minimum age: 26. Maturity essential.
    Minimum stay of 2 weeks.

    Coming with painted long nails or with huge luggage does not make sense here and will mostly be a burden for you. Life here is simple and authentic and any superficial person will not feel comfortable and be better at ease somewhere else.

    Also if you are a strong head, get irritated when being told what to do, especially by a woman and/or a person younger than you, don't even contact us.

    By confirming your participation you commit yourself in coming and staying the length of time that was arranged. It is a question of mutual respect. If you are likely to change your mind, please don't even contact us.

    Flexibility is essential in terms of tasks and hours. We ask only 15 hours per week, but it may happen that one day we have to dedicate 6 hours and the next 2 days you are totally free.

    Due to negative experience, on departure we will check that the caravan is left in good condition and cleaned.

    FROM APRIL TO OCTOBER: Because we live in a naturist environment, if you are not naturist, you will not have access to the whole property. It is essential that you are at ease in a naturist environment. We want everybody to feel comfortable. Naturism is not only nudism, it is a wider state of mind, with a lot to do with ecology and respect for nature, animals and other people's differences. Thanks for telling us about if you have naturist experience or not when you contact us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A nice remodeled caravan with incredible views on mountains, in an extraordinary landscape. The caravan has 2 beds (plus one sofa bed) and a living room. The kitchen is very basic but enough to prepare simple food (a fridge and freezer, a gaz cooker). Toilets inside. Shower outside with hot water (we are lucky to have an excellent weather almost all the time). A terrace with fantastic views.

    The pool is only accessible to naturists and its access is limited.

    Wi-Fi is provided during the day but may be shut down from about 11pm to 9am.

    We will not provide food because I have a complicated diet for health reasons but you have your own house and are totally independent. You can buy food at a little store within walking distance. To compensate, we only require 15 hours per week. In case there are several workawayers at the same time you will be asked to share the caravan. Max. 3 persons in very exceptional cases. Usually max. 2 persons. Our place is not adapted to children for security reasons (swimming pool).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have the possibility to do hiking or mountain bike (bringing your own), go to the beach. A lot of private time. A bus stop is at 800 meters. Please note that we are in a remote place and that you need to take the bus for maybe half an hour to be in Cartagena. You can walk to the beach though. Please don't come with more luggage than what you can carry as we will not provide transportation and you will take public transportation.

    Nearest airports : Murcia or Alicante. Both have bus connections to go to cartagena. Murcia is slightly closer.

    We expect our guests to have high level of higiene and cleanliness and to respect the calm and silence of the place. The house should be left in a perfectly cleaned condition and it is a very important requirement for us.

    Adequate behavior is required: smoking in designated places. Reasonable use of alcohol. No visits for obvious reasons (naturist environment).

    LGBT+ friendly.

    If you have read until here, we are very grateful for this!!! Please mention the password "sunset" at the beginning of the contact mail so we know you have read our profile. We will give your mail a special attention ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have WiFi but it is rural WiFi which usually is very good but can not be guaranteed at all times as the provider can encounter technical problems due to weather. We often turn it off at night. Good 3G in the area.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a cover parking space for campervan with 3 point electricity plug special for campervan. ALWAYS ASK US FIRST.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    ALWAYS ASK US FIRST.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours per week

Host ref number: 996244829298

Feedback (28)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)


































Looking for help on my veg & fruit garden on the beautiful land in La Palma, Canarias
Help a mother with her two children in Ibiza, Spain