updated   Last minute

Self-discovery, eco buiding, gardening, and more in Órgiva, Spain

  • Favourited 960 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    INTRODUCTION

    Living from the Heart in the present moment and following that silent voice inside that is joyfull and bold is much easier when we are in company with like minded souls.

    That is our purpose in welcoming volunteers, so beautiful living spaces and gardens can be created and maintained with fun, for them and for all of us, to empower each other on the way towards simplicity.

    Coming together we feel a deep joy in supporting volunteers and friends eager to know themselves behind their apparent personality, so they can attain a deeper and lasting sense of peace and happiness.
    Sharing life in devotion to Self-discovery is only possible when there is a sincere longing in the heart, a readiness to follow a little discipline and a mature awareness of self-responsibility of one's own emotions and experience.

    PRESENTATION

    We are a on a beautiful 1ha land of fruit trees (Olive, Orange, Lemon, Nispero, Avocado, Almond, fig...) in the outskirts of Orgiva in Las Alpujarras. We are a mix of German, French and Danish and we speak together mostly english and spanish.
    Our finca is within walking distance from the lively town of Orgiva, where there are many markets, events and communities of spiritual, holistic and alternative nature, and still our land has the precious quality of quiet nature with birds singing and beautiful views of the mountains.
    We aim to live a simple life with universal spiritual values like gratitude, respect of Mother Earth, kindness, care, charity etc...


    TYPE OF WORKS

    In the comming months we will be focusing on our natural building projects, finishing clay floor and plastering of our Temple, & starting new building project for which we are looking to welcome a few mature, motivated and fit people to join us.

    At the moment there is mostly work in the garden with the trees and with the continuation of establishing a vegetable and flower garden using homa therapy and permaculture principles, watering, grass strimming and more. As we have only been on the land for a short time focussing on buildging shelters, the work of establshing a food forrest is still in its very begining, even though many trees were already here. There can also be jobs like marmelade making, haversting fruits and herbs and sowing seeds using the biodynamic seed calendar.


    RHYTHM AND EXCHANGE

    We follow a daily rythm with 5 hours of work a day/ 5 days a week. Breaks, meals prep, dishes and cleaning of commun areas are extra, those tasks are shared between everyone, We mostly work 5 hours before lunch (which in spain is around 14/15h) and afternoon & evening is free. When the work and instructions are known, there can also be a flexibility with the placing of the work hours.
    We ask for a minimum stay of around 2-3 weeks so you have time to settle, know the place and people and become effective with the tasks.

    We love playing devotional music together and celebrate with regularity Bhajan & Kirtan (mantra singing) on the land and around in the neighbouring commuity.

    The coming of new guests is for us an occasion to empower and encourage each other to purify our minds and become more in service to the life surrounding us, improve our caracters, respect and honour the Earth and Nature to share and learn as well as to receive help to be able to dedicate more time for meditation, devotional singing and practices and charity.

    We are simply learning from each other and supporting each other by doing our best to stay centered in the heart. We are so happy to share from various teachers, for example by sitting in satsang together. As well as we enjoy other helpful tools like aarti, bhajans, kirtan, silent meditation, japa, and charity or seva.

    The program we have to support the volunteers who wishes it in their Self-discovery is the following:

    Monday to Friday 7.00 to 7.30 and 19.30 to 20.30 satsang on zoom with sri Mooji baba sangha
    Saturday and Sunday 8.00 to 8.45 and 19.30 to 20.30 satsang on zoom with sri Mooji baba sangha
    ( only need a zoom and WhatsApp connection)

    Bhajans and kirtan ( mantra singing) with our local Sacred Song Circle on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 19 to 21h

    Friday 18 to 20h Purna Maa satsang with possibility of interactions where you might ask any question and receive guidance into the Heart  (if you comply with requirements)

    ***

    We enjoy a relaxed atmosphere within a certain discipline, to live in a clean & loving space. We eat vegetarian (plant based nutrition and sometimes dairy), no alcohol, drugs and tobacco. We are not able to receive smokers nor people trying to stop smoking or stop drinking alcohol because the dependency can drag people's attention in a different space than the one we wish to keep, and it becomes a strain for us to support people who are not really ready to keep themselves free of intoxicants.

    We cultivate cleanliness and a healthy hygiene with body washed daily and clean and respectful clothing; we have a dress guideline as a reminder that this place is dedicated to Self-realisation and also to facilitate the bridge between different cultural backgrounds, as we recieve people from all over the world.

    Apart from a sense of being useful, effective, punctual and easy going, some sensitivity is a much appreciated quality.

    We cannot afford the cost of the stay for volunteers who get temporarily sick or need extra rest, so it would be nessecary for us to ask for a very reasonable economical contribution if volunteers are not able do the 25h per week and their part of the household tasks. If such a situation arises we need to be informed as soon as possible, so we can organise the team.
    We are as well not able to receive volunteers who are mentally unstable, working with mental illness or deep struggle, or do not have a health insurance covering them in spain.

    Who are we?
    Our project is just in the starting up phase and we are excited to be in the trust of where it might take us. We have been on the land for almost 1 year now.
    Michael & Guta live part of the time in Germany and part time in the finca.
    Bruno has his daughter Alma with him half the time and Ana has her daughter Aluna with her half of the time. There is also our old placid dog Roco and the very cudly cat Maou and her wilder friends.

    We are in the phase of building up and renovating living spaces, so we can stay more grounded on the land and also receive volunteers in more proper spaces. Until then we are receiving volunteers in tents (with matrasses) and a caravan for long term volunteers. We have one big room, Tila, which serves as kitchen, eating space & common room for both practical and devotional purposes.
    We have two bathrooms and a really beautiful compost toilet with mountain view. There is lots of outside spaces with trees, and several structures in the making.

    If your Inner Guidance or intuition tells you that it may be a good place for you, then you are most welcome to get in touch!
    We look forward to hearing from you and we hope you'll find support for your Inner discovery with us.



    #meditation
    #yoga
    #aarti
    #bhajans
    #devotion
    #mantras
    #spirituality
    #budha
    #enlightment
    #children

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For volunteers there is opportunity to participate in :
    Puja aarti
    kirtan/bhajans
    charity work
    Devotional practices

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with natural building projects
    House help ( Cleaning bathroom & toilets, dish washing, cooking...)
    Gardening
    Small repairs
    Renovations
    Help with children. We have two very lovely children of 14 and 8

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tent with matress in nature
    Caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus available to Órgiva.
    One hour drive from Granda airport
    1,5 hrs drive from Málaga aiport

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs / 5days or 3h / 5 days without food provided

Host ref number: 419899728887

Feedback (26)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)



































Abandoned cats and kittens waiting for your love plus home and garden help in a large villa near Conil, Spain
Help in house and with children and animals near Almunecar, Spain