Help an English couple get their large garden in order/entertain our grandchildren in Auvergne, France



Favourited 151 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    In Spring and Autumn, we’re looking for a couple, strong, energetic, practical, who like being outdoors, good with tools, strimmers, power saws, etc. to help with strimming, sawing branches, cutting hedges, clearing brambles, weeding, digging, hauling logs, creating wood pile, etc. etc. In the summer, we welcome singles to come to give us a hand looking after and entertaining (and being entertained by - our grandchildren.
    In return, you’ll get very comfortable accommodation and plenty of good things to eat and drink and the chance to explore our nearby forest, and some very interesting villages.
    We are an English married couple from London who have lived in France for nearly 20 years, We are retired but very active and young in heart, and we are both writers and painters. The house and grounds are very attractive - an old 1750's manoir which we renovated over a period of three years.
    The kind of person, we think, who would enjoy staying with us has: good sense of humour, enjoys their food, eats everything, likes to be in the countryside, likes to be out in the garden, likes to chat about art, literature, music and is relatively easy-going and broad-minded.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be very well fed, breakfast, lunch and dinner each day with us.
    Plenty of gorgeous vegetables freshly picked off our 'potager'.
    We are English so you can practice your English (we also speak French).
    We have a studio if you wish to paint. And a swimming pool overlooking the meadows.
    We like to talk about literature, art, travel etc

  • Help


    We have a quite a lot of garden and land, with many trees, small meadows, hedges, pond, vegetable plot, etc. so lots of cutting back, sawing logs, clearing dead trees; as well as painting of garden furniture, shutters, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Separate wing in our 1750's manoir, with double bedroom, sitting room and kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful countryside, good for walking, close to Foret de Troncais (Europe's largest oak forest), many 11/12 century churches, chateaux, pretty villages.
    We are writers and painter/sculptors, English but speak French too.
    We have so far welcomed six sets of Workawayers. All wonderful. Three of them decided to come back a second time, so we must be doing something good!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 993492929249