updated  

Helping hands welcome at our eco-home in Aislingen, Germany

  • Favourited 50 times
  • Last activity: 20 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple, living in a eco-fiendly house, using solar energy for most of our needs. We like nature, vegetable gardening, horses, farming. In buisness life we run an engineering office.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn about solar cooking, horse keeping, horse cart driving, eco gardening.
    Depending on when you stay with us, you might get a chance in saving amphibes during the dangerouse parts of their spring migration, building nest boxes for owls or learn how to prune fruit trees.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Any helping hand is welcome for gardening, keeping our animals (horses, cats, chicken, ducks), general house-work or maintence to house and garden.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Hindi: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Want to learn more Hindi / Urdu

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a nice little guest room with two single beds. Additionally there is an space with matracess above in the attic.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About us: we are a couple living in an old house that is fully renovated to be an energy plus house. We have a small farm and an engineering office for innovative solar energy solutions. There are 6 cats, 5 horses, ducks and chicken. We work on grassland to enhance biodiversity and harvest hay. There are about 60 fruit trees and a vegetable garden.

    Depending on the season and the needs, we are happy if you can help:
    - in the vegetable garden, harvesting apples or walnut.
    - harvesting hay (only between June and August)
    - Make apple juice (only in Sept./Oct).
    - Make walnut oil.
    - You can help with the animals (few chicken, few ducks, cats, ponys and horses) if you like animals.
    - make solar processed conserves from the garden produce
    - help with some maintenance of the buildings

    What we offer:
    You can eat all meals with us, we are super happy if you help with washing the dishes or food preparation sometimes. The food is 100% vegetarian, vegan is possible.
    You can stay with us in our private house. We have a guest room with two separate beds available, additionally there is a space under the roof with mattresses. You might have the guestroom for yourself or need to share it with an intern. Sometimes we have international interns in our company, who stay with us at home. We are used to have guests most of the time :-)
    We share with you our solar experience (solar cooking, solar processing, building solar devices). Basically you are welcome to be part of our life for your stay with us, meet our friends and join into whatever activity we are doing.
    In your free time:
    In case you like horses, you are welcome to join into our regular horse cart rides and get your own experiences with cart driving. In case you are a good rider, you can join for horse ridigin trips in nature (not alone).
    We have a few bicycles which you can borrow for trips in the beautiful natural surroundings of our village (hills with forest, Danube valley, 80 small lakes for swimming, etc.) There are a lot of cycle- and walking tracks in the area.
    Our village is close to the cities of Ulm (30min by train) and Augsburg (40min by train), where you can enjoy the important historic city etc. The next railway station is at 8km from our village and easily accessible by bicycle or bus.
    Munich and Stuttgart are also accessible by train (~2h).

    You can borrow bicycles from us to explore the nearby lakes and forests, there are a lot of nice tracks in nature. You can go by bicycle to the next railway station and reach the historic cities of Ulm and Augsburg.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 987884491193

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Help our vegetarian family in our vegetable garden in The Harz, Germany
Live with our big family an help with the children and horses near Hamburg, Germany