Join our family and help with the olive harvest in south Crete, Greece



Favourited 387 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We are olive farmers in south Crete. Our small family is me, Catia from Switzerland, my husband Dimitris and his brother Kostas from Crete. During the summer we rent three rooms in our house for guests from all over the world (bed and breakfast). In the wintertime we are working with the olives.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be fully integrated in our family. They can learn the cretan way of life: Today is life, tomorrow never comes. Dimitris is a professional cook and will prepare for you typical greek food with fresh ingredients from our garden and our animals.

  • Help


    We need some help for the picking of the olives and for cultivating the trees, during the months of November, December and January. It is really hard work. You need to be in very good physical condition and you should love to be outside in the nature. There can be also some small tasks for the maintenance of our garden, the feeding of our animals and the household. But mainly we are looking for someone, who supports us with the olives.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Serbian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room in our house with wood heater and a shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your off-time you can go to the beautiful beaches of south Crete for example Matala (distance from our house: 30 Minutes by car) or make a tour on the wonderful Messara valley with our bicycle. Our donkey Sifis would love to take a walk around the village with you. If you have enough of the quiet village life, you can go to the city of Heraklion. Near our home there are four famous archaeological sides, that you can visit. We also recommend you a hiking tour in the Asterousia mountains that you can see from our balcony. There is no bus connection from our village to Heraklion. But if you want to use public transport, we can bring you to Agii Deka with our car and there are hourly bus connections to Heraklion or Mires.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 984324538286