Stay with our family and help us discover new cultures in the beautiful Rotterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/01/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi volunteers! We are a family of 2 people me Ilja (48) and my daughter Zoe (16). We love meeting new people and learning about their cultures. We like to listen to music, play games, and overall just have fun :) I’m looking for someone who is open-minded, great with kids, trust worthy and who loves to socialize. The only thing you have to do is house keeping, grocery shopping, cooking, helping my daughter and do fun activities with us :)
    We live in Rotterdam to be exact in Zevenkamp, just a car ride of 20 minutes away from the city, And just a 5 min walk from the subway station! Zevenkamp is a cozy neighborhood, you also have quite a lot of shops within walking distance, an indoor swimming pool, a man-made beach and close by are some lovely places to take a hike.
    I’m an engineer/planner at Shell and I work from 7 to 4 everyday, except for weekends. because of COVID 19 I am working from home at the moment, but I still need to wake up early so if you want to plan your chores later on its totally fine for me. You can expect around 3 hours a day and weekends off. It can be that I need you a few hours more on a day, but you can expect a lot of free time. My hobbies are fishing, gadgets, food. My daughter (she part-time lives with me) is very sweet and she made me do this! She loves to travel and learn new things! I woud love if you helped her with homework and do nice things with her! She is specializing in interior design, so if you know anything about it, it would be great (not necessarily).
    We are both from The Netherlands and we both are fluent in Dutch, we aren’t fluent in English but we can find our way in English. We would love to learn you some simple dutch and we would also like if you learn us a bit of your language. On the weekend we love to have fun and do nice things, so we would love to show you some of our culture! if you are interested please keep on reading :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be able to see how “typical” dutch people are living. Maybe eat things that you never knew existed. We could show you alt the things to do in our neighborhood\Rotterdam. You could also help us with perfecting our English.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We’re looking for someone to keep our house clean, while I am busy with work. For example : cooking, cleaning, organizing, tutoring. We also expect you to keep your own room clean and tidy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 3-story terraced house, you would have you own private room on the 1st floor with a bed and storage for your clothes. We have a toilet on the ground floor and a bathroom on the 1st that’s shared by everyone in the house.

    !FOOD! We love to cook and you can eat with us! we would also love if you can share your cooking style, we like trying new things to eat! If you are eating out please let us know, so we can prepare our food. And if you want to try something special from please let us know!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rotterdam is the second largest city form the Netherlands, and it’s really modern but some parts are still very old. You can be here for days but you will see something different everyday.
    Some activities you can do:
    Sightseeing, shopping, museums, zoo, cinema, football, amusement parks :)
    And of course a lot more!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 983658451658