Help me love and look after my sleddogs in Sälen, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 221 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    743

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hi!
    Welcome to my profile. I am a woman at 45 years that live alone with my for now 22 dogs. Working real hard to give them a good life all year around, in summertime I do need to work alot extra in the oldercare to manage, eaven if my vision is to be able to do this with the dogs only.

    I am really hard worker, growing this slow, but right now it is increasing with dogs, because I have some older dogs and filling up with new ones, so right now I have alot of yongsters , that need really much time to be raised and cared about. In wintertime I only live for fixing with the dogs, so at home I really dont have the time to fix as I should want to. I always try to set the dogs needs first, and prioritize them, takes time and hard work.

    This life is really a lifestyle, and if you dont really love animals then you probably not will like to live with this, its a all day all year round thing - always some dogs inside, some to cuttle, some that needs something extra. That dont mean that it is workworkwork, it means that you always have some 4legged friends following you everywhere. :)

    From the beginning I am educated in childrenscare and teaching, but also have a education in media (an old one now though) , so i am fixing most of the things my self here.

    In spring when the days are longer, I like to go out crosscountryskiing with a dog or two , or be more active outside.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you all about the dogs, training them, building a dog-team, reading doglanguage. You also have a very apprechiated area around here with plenty of very unique places to visit and experience. Its also very close to the Norwegian border. This is an old area with very beautiful old-farms up in the hills, from the 1700 years, some still in use . The special mountain-cows for instance.
    We also have a very uniqe nature around, with very nice fishingspots, wide mountains, river with canoing, and a big wilderness just around the corner. in the winter it is one of the biggest nordic ski-areas here.

    It goes few buses here, so you do need to like to have a calm and close-to-the-dogs living. But if you like hiking and fishing and nature, then its for you.
    I can promise that the dogs will give you alot to get if you like. :)

  • Help

    Help

    Examples of the everyday-stuff that we do here: as cleaning off in the house, preparing for food to my arrival at home after workingday (I am mostly home but in periods there are meetings or courses or other stuff to go to for me), baking bread for breakfast, mixing up the food in buckets for the dogs, feeding the dogs that are at home and give them a walk and a cozy day. picking up and cleaning away the poop in the dogyards and yard. And to carry in firewood, make fire so the house keep warm, and take care of the laundry (washing, drying, folding, put it in the wardrobes etc), the dishes and cut the grass or showel snow outside. Maybe be able to use the sewingmachine to fix broken jackets, pants and so on if you know how to. OBS! This is examples of stuff to do, it is not as you do all everyday of course! we talk toghether and set up a plan for some days at a time. It is really aprechiated if you can fix the cooking for us, the meat that we eat is from local cow, or moose, depending on season. I like to cook economical bigcooks with possibilities to make foodboxes for later use and so on. Chosing food after season.

    you do need to love dogs/animals, because here the dogs live side by side with me in the home, sofa and bed. They love if you want to go out on a hike with them or give them a massage and so on. it will always be dogs inside, outside loose, outside in the yard and dogyards. you do need to like dogs. REMEMBER - THIS IS A PACK OF DOGS, meaning that this is ALOT different than having one or two familydogs. If you are interested, start out by googeling and reading about dogpack-language, the breeds of alaskan malamute, siberian husky and alaskan husky and their different behavior, and all that stuff. This is not Disney - far away from that, you will be dirty, freezing, swetting, but kissed in the face alot. :P

    At home we are only me and you - so you will live as close as a familymember, and with that said you do need to be able to see and take care of the home, even without me telling do this and this, because it will be yours as well , not only in your own room. It is only you and me, so we do stuff toghether in the household. If I have much work with meetings or office, you will be the one fixing the food for the day and other householdrelated stuff , as lightning the fire , turn on the washingmachine or put laundry up for drying, or carrying in the wood, vacuumcleaning, washing the floors. Exactly as if you had your own home you do the same . :)

    Be prepared there can be long days some of the days, now on autumn when dogtraining starts it take som hours but oh it is FUN! going out with the sleddogs training them. And if we plan and talk, other days it is just feeding dogs in morning and evening (we do that togehter) so you can use your day for hiking with a dog , relaxing or go to the village for instance. You self decide alot - this means that you need to be driven enough to start do stuff yourself, and how you want to set up your days - you need to be selfgoing, but you have a chance to get a really nice days here. Driving the dogs in this area is the most awarding stuff to do. :) This autumn it is 20 dogs who needs to train, so you will get learn how to drive a team. Thats also why I search for longer stays so the dogs not get comfused, and you will really learn the dogs-life too.

    you who write to me needs to:
    - be physically strong
    - have some kind of experience of dogs in a bigger pack, because they live as my familymember here
    - dont be scared of being dirty
    - be able to talk and be open
    - like calm and nature life, this is kind of offside so no bigcitylife even if we do have the mountain pretty close with restaurants, and stuff like that (but you do need a car to get there, sometimes you can borrow mine).
    during summertime the most stuff is closed so then the freetime is to fishing, swimming, hiking and enjoy nature and the dogs.

    we do live far away from stores and other stuff. there is a busstop outside the house here, so you can take the bus for a day somewhere. the bus goes like some times aday only. The closest store, smaaall one, is 25 km from here, so prepare for forests and lakes only. So you do need to like to be alone with only dogs around, and like calmness in that sort of way.

    if you are under 22 it is not for you, you need to be little older to be here at us.
    Also if vegetarian, it can be kind of hard to fix this - the dogs eat raw meat from time to time, we eat meat here almost everyday, and you do need to be able to handle raw meat, package it and so on.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swedish , english, very little of german just some scenteses

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    i have just moved to a new place, so right now you will have a room between kitchen and livingroom inside the house. so it is really closeup living, including helping out in the household and house.
    i do have a guesthouse on the yard here, but it needs some carpenting first, so will probably be ready for living in that one spring 2020.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is not a stay for you who dont love animals, it demands that you really love dogs and can feel the joy being with them even on your sparetime. It is a lifestyle - not a work , when you live this close to and with the dogs. <3
    close to nature of course.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a wee





Host ref number: 981557811897