Help us with the garden, cooking and stay in a glamping cabin in Nelson, Canada

  • Favourited 90 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a fun, hardworking family of 4. We enjoy camping, canoeing, skiing, climbing & mountain biking in our spare time and always have various projects on the go. Melissa is the "starter", a national-award-winning Master Photographer, author and tech entrepreneur...and Cam is the "finisher", holding a doctorate in history & a black belt in karate. Our kids are calm, good-natured and all around pretty awesome.

    We bought our own 6 acre property 14 years ago and since have done major renos on the house . We've done almost everything ourselves and built a suite, a tiny home, a bunk house and sauna on the property too. We make sourdough bread, our own kombucha, and manage an acre of vegetable and perennial gardens and have begun to develop our own food forest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our piece of land is 5 minutes from downtown Nelson, or a 20 minute walk. You get the best of both worlds here...rural mountain homestead living - but you can easily pop into town for a live show, a coffee or go to the pub. We have built up our property over the years on a shoe-string budget, so happy to share how we've developed our construction and gardening skills over the years. Also always happy to share history & photography knowledge around a campfire!

  • Help

    Help

    Spring time we're prepping soil, planting seeds, weeding and cleaning up from fall/winter.

    Summer time we can use help with the daily harvest berries, zucchini, cucumbers and soon, blackberries, hazelnuts, apples. Canning, kombucha, sourdough are always a thing...or you can help cook and/or entertain our kids

    Building projects include: possible tree house for little kids and big kids, finishing touches on our glamping cabin, and other small garden infrastructure.

    We have 4 forested acres and would love help establishing more trails and always clearing deadfall.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodations vary depending on the time of year. Right now our "glamping" cabin is mostly finished and includes a sleeping loft (queen bed), trundel bed (2 singles), composting toilet and outdoor shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you're super close to coffee shops, restaurants & shops. We have lots of mountain biking and hiking within 20 minutes and tons more if you venture out further. And there are many sandy beaches within a 10 min drive to choose from for lazy afternoons. And we're 20 minutes to the ski hill!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a wifi booster so that the signal reaches our glamping cabin.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 978559722378

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Enjoy life in a small community and help around the house and garden in Les Éboulements, Canada
Family homestead using permaculture principles in Kamloops, Canada