Help on a beautiful family lifestyle block in Northland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/04/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    178

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 9 living on a 5 acre cozy lifestyle block in Northland, 15 minutes from Kerikeri. We have 2 cows, 2 goats, 2 sheep, chickens, ducks, 2 dogs and a cat. Our children living at home range in age from 27 to 13.

    I (Sue) am studying hard, now in my last year of a 3-year degree in Creative Writing via distance learning. Unfortunately it keeps me so busy that I have little time to spend outdoors, so the garden will probably stay a jungle until I’ve finished studying :) it also helps if you are happy entertaining yourself - I enjoy socialising with you but have to force myself not to get too distracted by chatting!

    We are a friendly bunch and love meeting and hosting people from other parts of the world.

    Over the past few years some of the family have gone through rather a revolution with eating habits. We currently have 3-4 people mostly gluten free, 2 people vegan/whole food plant based and 1 semi-vegetarian. We are working towards providing fewer meat based meals, and increasing use of fruit, vegetables and other whole foods.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With so many people around, there are lots of opportunities for English practice :)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help with general gardening tasks and around the house. Help with cooking is appreciated - if you have an easy favourite recipe, we'd love to learn it!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have partitioned off an area in what used to be the rumpus room to use as a bedroom. There is access either from inside the house, or direct from the driveway.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're a 20 minute drive from the beautiful Bay of Islands, 10 minutes from Ngawha hot springs and 10 minutes from a cycle/walking trail. There are also waterfalls and swimming holes not far away. It's handy if you have your own transport, but if not, we can help you get out and about to check out the local sights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week
















Host ref number: 977911294244