Carpenter and handy-person at off-grid Eco home, with renovation, repair and creative projects in Cádiz, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    453

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, We are a British family of three living near the picturesque village of Vejer de la Frontera in Cádiz province. I am Jane, an English teacher/examiner and writer, and I have lived in the area for about 25 years. I have two big kids now living in the UK who visit from time to time, whilst little Florence, 7, lives at home. My partner, Louis, is a writer and a chef.

    We live in the country in a spacious house surrounded by trees. I have returned here after nine years and there are lots of little maintenance jobs and repairs to be done about the place, as well as lots of new projects on the horizon too!

    Vejer is a stunning hilltop "pueblo blanco" with a historical walled town, lots of places to explore and something going on most weekends, and most days during the summer months. In recent years it has become popular with a vibrant international mix of newcomers who have brought their musical/artistic and culinary talent to the area, although it hasn't lost any of its traditional charm in the process. Spectacular beaches are only a short drive away....and Cádiz or Tarifa (an hour away by bus) and Sevilla (2 hours away by bus) are fantastic day trip options. Our place is a 7 minute drive from Vejer, and is very spacious and peaceful, with views across rolling hills to the coast.

    We are happy to take our visitors out and about and there is a limited bus service, however if you have your own transport I think you'd enjoy the freedom of being able to explore wherever and whenever you want to.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve their language skills: English and Spanish. I am quite involved in the local community , so visitors would be welcome to join us at local social events, markets, festivals, concerts etc.

  • Help

    Help

    The house and environment is beautiful but in need of repairs and improvements especially carpentry and cement work. There is also scope for some new projects; murals, renovating a tree house, building an outdoor cob solar oven (google it to see- previous experience would be fantastic, but not essential) and devising systems to collect rain water. Planting and gardening enthusiasts welcome as we are trying to get a veggie plot going. So there´s plenty of variety!

    Any general collaboration with cooking and clearing up the meals we eat together would be much appreciated! I am mainly vegetarian, although I sometimes eat fish. Louis is happy to cook meat.

    We speak English at home, but I am happy to converse in Spanish as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a small double bedroom in our family home which could either accommodate an individual visitor or a couple who don´t mind cosy sharing. We also have a 5m lotus belle tent, but will take it down over the winter months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're about 10km from the beach. There is a wide variety of events on throughout the year: live music and jam sessions, performances in the local theatre and many local and public fiestas celebrated in true Andalusian fashion. There are classes and workshops on offer: yoga, dance and music etc and plenty of wonderful walks into the country, the forest or along the beach. There are beaches for surfing, for kite surfing, for nudists and for families. If you have a car then you have infinite choice of course. I am happy to help any visitors get around and of course pick them up from local bus stops (La Barca de Vejer/Vejer/Conil/Casa de Postas) or the train station in Bahia Sur in San Fernando.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hrs 5 days a week













Host ref number: 976577278589