Be part of a beautiful project on eco-building and living off-grid in Sospel, the French Alps

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 285 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a cuban artist, loving sharing, art and people. I have a beautiful project that includes an artists's residency, as well as a wooden bungallow for tourists, a studio made of recycled palets, a hut in the trees for kids, a natural swimming pool, the wood and clay extension of an existing 1908 stone house, a permaculture garden... but also creating balms, creams, soaps, detergent, baskets and all of this from scratch!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be working with a cuban artist/glass sculptor/interior desginer specialized in eco friendly building and refurbishing techniques, speaking four languages fluently (Spanish, English, French and Italian), who has lived in different european countries for the last 25 years.
    You would be learning a lot about living in an off-grid home the artist built herself, in almost complete autonomy. Almost everything about our home is original and most respectful of nature as a whole and specially humankind. It is situated in the middle on the mountains within the Sospel county, very close to the French Riviera and within the French Alps, with a wild as well as a preserved environement. Throughout the year we teach courses about creating our own detergent, soaps, all sorts of balms for natural cosmetics, natural jewellery, sculpture, painting, water cleaning by water plants, limestone stuccos for walls, weaven baskets and most of these is provided by our garden! You are of course invited to participate in our courses for free! The complete calendar for 2020 is updated in our website.
    We often have parties at home going on with our friends and we also go hiking in the near Alps or to the beach for swimming and enjoying the sun, so you are very welcome to spend time with us other than work as well! ;-)


    Our town (Sospel) is very friendly and you will find anything you need within walking distance (25 minutes from home).
    There are regular buses and trains to Menton (15km) and Nice (45km). Italy is neither far (10km).

  • Help

    Help

    Hello to you all!
    We have created, together with other workawayers an eco friendly bungallow for tourists, as well as for hosting artists in residence. We have finished the outdoor studio made of palets, an outdoor clay and straw oven, an outdoor shower, the foundations of the future natural swimming pool, a wooden hut in the trees for kids and the first steps for a permaculture garden.

    From April 2020 we will be hosting again, so we would need skills for gardening and building the wooden extension of our house, the eco friendly way and mainly by recycling (from cutting down trees, to carpentry, to clay techniques for stuccos or plumbing or electricity). Any skills welcome. No skills and good will, very welcome too, as I can teach you all about it!
    We will start by creating the foundations the way antique romans did, using stones, sand and limepowder, but also by recycling used tires as an "earthship construction technique". We will be creating walls with dirt from the garden ground using different techniques.

    We are currently looking for :

    From SEPTEMBER the 1st until OCTOBER the 31st. (Please only long stays will be considered).

    -we would much preffer couples : either two males or male and female. There is a lot to dig and carry around in the garden.
    Strength and goodwill will be expected during these months. (Rather « fragile natured » people, nature is not for you! This is the wild and we have from every insect in creation, to wildbores, wolves and even deer!)
    We would much preffer non smokers.
    ID and Visas as well as travel health insurance will be demanded.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    From April to October (we do not host in July or August) you will be living in the artist’s studio ( a wooden hut with a double bed in mezzanine, plus another single bed) with confortable mattresses, and cosy duvets, within our property in the middle of nature, in the french Alps (you should love nature and living and working outdoors most of the time). The studio will be shared with another workawayer, most of the time of the same sex.
    500m altitude, not far from the Mediterranean sea(15km), buses and trains to take you about. Very close to Sospel (3km). During these months you will be sharing all meals with our familly, as well as enjoying accomodation, so we will expect 5hours/work per day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is very close to the italian border (10km), as well as to Monaco (30km), the beach at the mediterranean sea (18km by bus), the city of Nice by train (45km) and its old city and museums, the Mercantour National Parc is only a breath away, where you'd be able to hike and do all kinds of sports, water sports are also very close (12 minutes by train).
    You'd be able to purchase fresh produce from the local farmers and market and take original souvenirs home from our local artists and creators.
    Our home is very small but the garden is quite a big property when it comes to space, we often have tourists around and mostly hikers or bikers, so you wont be alone and you would be able to share the garden and the facilities with other people.
    I can take you around for a hike if you wish, as I am part of a hiking club of the French Alps and I have a mountain guide diploma ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week- food

A view from our garden last summer.
Our wonderful argentinian workawayers from last 2018 autumn.
With our workawayers making an outdoor clay and straw oven from scratch!
With the hardworkers Federico and Maria, our workawayers from last 2019 winter, creating a shower room and an outdoor dry toilet.
Creating baskets from scratch with our spring courses.
Hardworking by making concrete for the future outdoor shower.
After work, enjoying the river from our Bévéra valley, with two workawayers.
Hiking in the National Parc nearby,, with two workawayers.
A veggie meal, with local produce from our home town.
The outdoor terrace for all of our meals!
A little friend in our garden...
Gardening on our waste water filters
Two of our workawayers, enjoying their time in the evening from our terrace overlooking the valley
Jenny I also have a mountain guide diploma to take you hiking around!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 976517387222