Help us building the house and a rural lifestyle in Broissia, France




Favourited 72 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Special call for 2 to 5 December! We are looking for a pet sitter volunteer during 2 days (3 +4) that will care for our dogs while we move shortly in holidays. Our dogs are very kind but also very good hunters so they need to be leashed outside for walks. Contact me if you can help!


    > during this month we will have big works : Build the house insulation, dig a trench, dig holes and plant about 60 young trees. For that we need help and we are eager to host about 3 volunteers together. If you are eager to work physically and wish to share this experience with us, you're welcome !

    /!/ We will host you with the other volunteers in a big collective room :)

    Working hours will be : 9 to 12 am, 14 to 16 pm.

    More details about us >>>

    Hi ! We live in Broissia, a small village in Jura Region with about 50 inhabitants. We are a couple (Emile & Florence) with a child of 5 years old. Moreover we are growing 6 chickens, 12 goats, 2 dogs, and a donkey.

    We came to Broissia two years ago when we bought an old house that needed to be fully renovated. The house is nicely located nearby the river Suran where is always nice to swim in summer, our land is a 5000m2 forest. While we are doing the renovation, we rent a house in the village.

    Both of us where travelling around Europe and volunteering in many projects, eco-farms, wwoofing, collective projects, education, etc. Now that we have this beautiful place we would be so happy to host travellers and make it grow together.

    For our workawayers, its crucial to us to respect your own rythm and inspiration, and we love people that brings new ideas, creativity, that can contribute to daily organization. Also as we were leading youth project we wish to offer workawayers the skills they are looking for, and help them grow toward their own life project.

    Bonjour !
    nous vivons à Broissia, petit village d'une soixantaine d'habitants dans le Jura français. Nous sommes une famille avec un enfant de 4 ans, Sasha. Nous avons également avec nous 7 poules, 8 chèvres et 2 chiens.
    Flo travaille à Bourg en Bresse dans un lycée une partie de la semaine, Emile travaille sur la maison et dans le jardin, et Sasha va à l'école en bus toute la semaine.
    Il y a un an nous avons acheté une vieille maison dans le village que nous sommes en train de rénover. La maison est située au bord de la rivière (le Suran) qui offre de beaux endroits pour se baigner l'été. Comme nous sommes en train de rénover le bâtiment nous louons une autre maison à 50m dans le village.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our village are regularly parties organized so you may have the chance to take part in one ! :) In the surrounding we enjoy a positive environnement with opportunities for meeting people.

    Dans notre village ou dans les environs il y a régulièrement des événements d'organisés, vous pouvez avoir la chance de pouvoir y participer :) ! Il y a dans la région un environnement social assez riche avec des opportunités pour rencontrer des gens.

  • Help


    You can help us by many ways :
    - Help for renovation in the house (all kind of tasks...)
    - Help with goats (milking, making fences, bringing them to the fields...)
    - Help in the garden : preparing the ground, planting trees, gardening, ...

    The most important for us is that you find a work that fits to you and makes your feel confortable. We hope your experience at our place help you for your own path.

    Its perfectly ok for us that you contribute to organize your working time (for example if you like to work in the morning and have free afternoons), its ok if you like to make the tasks together as well as if you prefer to be by your own. Its ok if you have no experience, and its ok if you want to initiate something in our place (artistic project, etc).


    Vous pouvez nous aider pour :
    -rénover la maison
    -s'occuper des chèvres (faire la traite, faire les clotures, les emmener dans les prés...)
    -travailler dans le jardin (défricher, préparer les espaces pour le potager, planter des arbres...)

    Le plus important pour nous est que vous trouviez des taches qui vous plaisent et dans lesquelles vous vous sentez à l'aise. On espère que votre expérience chez nous vous aidera dans votre propre chemin.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Serbian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    There's a private room in the house for workawayers. We share kitchen, bathroom, and living room.

    We also have a vintage caravane in the garden that also might be use.

    In case you want more wildness, its also possible for you to camp in the garden :)

    Nous mettons à disposition une chambre privative dans la maison que nous louons. Nous partageons la cuisine, la salle de bain et le salon. Pour l'été nous avons une caravane sur le terrain de la maison que nous rénovons qui peut être utilisée, et si vous souhaitez plus de tranquillité il y a beaucoup d'espace pour camper.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time, you can hike around, go to swim in the river, enjoy parties or local events. For your mobility there's a bus 2 times a day for Saint Julien sur Suran, Lons le Saunier and Bourg en Bresse, we also can borrow ours cars, bicycles, or donkey. The area is quite beautiful but not touristic and we love that calmness.

    Pendant vos temps libres vous pouvez vous balader dans la belle nature environnante ;)
    Deux fois par jour il y a un bus pour Saint-Julien sur Suran, Lons le Saunier et Bourg en Bresse.
    Les environs sont très beau et peu touristiques, nous y apprécions le calme et la tranquillité.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can park a van along the street on the edge of our land, with electricity access.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5h a day, 5 days/week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 364793949511