Come discover wheelchair sports and help me get to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics in 2021:)

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 100 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1551

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    CRAZY, crazy COVIDY times!!! The world as changed!

    Well, I had a long term Workawayer, who very wisely decided to be with his loved ones back in Germany, to ride out the pandemic. Since then things have been very quiet, but things are about to start up again slowly, as we’ve just been cleared to start training on July 20th.

    On to the good stuff:)
    It’s been Just over 2 years of Workawayers and it’s been AWESOME;) Germany x 3, France x 2, Czech Republic, Singapore, USA, Scotland and Belgium have all stayed with me; vegans, vegetarians, minimalists, athletes, musicians, witches, models, honour students! We’ve had so many beautiful experiences and it’s been as I said before, truly awesome:)

    If you are into sports, healthy living or just want to immerse yourself in a foreign world, while staying close to both the downtown bustle of Montreal (a little subdued these days due to COVID-19:) and greenery of the Canadian outdoors, this is the thing for you;)

    About myself: I’m Marco a Canadian Paralympic Athlete in the sport of boccia. If you don’t know about the Paralympics, it’s the biggest sports event in the world for disabled athletes. it’s like the Olympics:) In boccia, I’m one of the oldest competitors, duelling it out against people half my age, I’m ranked 19th in the world, was world #1 in 2014-2015:) I’ve also won a bronze medal at the 2012 Paralympic Games.

    My sport, boccia is a precision sport, like lawn bowling, pétanque, boules and it's really cool, because it gives people with severe physical disabilities, a chance to compete at the highest level, it’s very inclusive and it’s a mixed sport, meaning that men and women compete equally;) In fact the #1 player in the world is a female, lives in Montreal and is one of my very best friends. You will also get to meet her incredible service dog, who’s won over every single Workawayer I’ve had, even people that don’t like or are scared of dogs:)

    I’m looking for someone to assist me in my daily sports life here in Montreal, which means preparing practice equipment, assisting me during practice (1-2 at the gym and 1-2 times at home per week), household work (cleaning dishes, laundry...), getting groceries, running errands, food prep and other related things.

    What I offer is food, lodging (a cosy little nook), local transpo (bike rental, bus and subway pass), an average of 2 days off a week and you get to help me in my preparation to get to Tokyo in 2021 for the Paralympic Games.

    I’m looking for someone to help me for a month or so (can always be more if you’re really into this).

    In Montreal, I live close to downtown, really near the botanical garden and Olympic Stadium where I train.

    You will meet a lot of sports people as I train alongside other Paralympic athletes and Olympic athletes as well (temporarily on hold).

    If you’re a fitness buff, which is usually the type of person that’s interested in this experience, you’ll have access to training at our gym in Montreal (you guessed it, it’s on hold).

    Hopefully you will have experience in working with the disabled or have a bring on the challenge attitude:)

    And then there’s my 2 babies, Sushi and Sashimi, they’re my baby bengal cats (7 and 14 months old:)

    If you require more info on what I’m looking for or want to see a few videos of the type of help I need or a little bit more about myself (I’m easy to find on the web), just ask:)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get a life experience of a new world, learn about incredible resilience in overcoming fantastic obstacles! We have an amazing and open community. Open your mind and heart, don’t be afraid, dive in and you will get an abundance in return.

    You will learn French and improve your English, if It’s not your mother tongue.

    You will learn about Paralympic sports, experience a great city; Montreal is a very vibrant city, we have lots of green spaces very close to the city. It’s Montreal, it’s awesome, even during the winter, but as you can imagine, I prefer the summers as snow and wheelchairs don’t get along very well!

  • Help

    Help

    If you have experience working or helping with the physically disabled, that’s a big plus, but it’s not a deal breaker, as you’ll learn as we go along. Embrace it as a challenge:)

    I have a flat mate who’s also a best friend who helps to take care of me; her name is Joanna from Poland; she’s awesome, she’s 31, works in the real estate industry, dynamic and you will learn loads from her. You will also assist Joanna around the apartment/house to do household chores, especially the dishes, she hates that, so dishes will be your task:)

    For the specifics on the help, it's mostly about training, as you will assist in setting up my cross training at the apartment, we'll also be hitting the courts 1-2 times a week, where your tasks will be to set me up, assisting me for some aerobics, picking up balls, listen to me and my coaches directions, to ensure a proper training session.

    Household work, will be normal chores: DISHES 100% u:), laundry, recycling, taking out the garbage, food prep, etc..
    And man, woman, genderless, trans or other, I don’t care as long as you do the job;) I also expect you to be fit, as it helps with what the tasks you’ll be performing.

    What do I expect? I expect you to be organized, responsible, dynamic, go with the flow, b chill, work well with others, high energy during our tasks and very keen to discover wheelchair sports and my very particular community:) I like somebody hands on, that doesn’t back down from challenges, that wants to learn and shows initiative:)

    BTW, if you have a Working Holiday Visa, that could be a big plus, but could change our food and local transpo deal.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I’m in a 2015 built apartment complex and your domain for your stay will, be the living room but no worries, you’ll have privacy as there will be a divider/curtain separating your space (approx. 3.10m x 3.30m pictures included) from the rest of the apartment. And you’ll sleep on a futon and if it’s not comfy enough, I have a mattress on top of the futon. You will also have a TV, working area, an IKEA shelving unit with drawers (clothes and stuff) and a small table. You will be comfortable:)

    And of course I’ve got your wifi needs covered:) I also have Netflix And Disney+.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I’m a pretty simple guy, I enjoy simplicity, a stress free environment where everyone gets along and there’s solutions for everything, man wouldn’t that be great:) I live for my sport and to give kids and adults with disabilities some mentorship or guidance, on what you can achieve with dedication and passion.

    I enjoy going to the movies (from indie flix to blockbusters (yes, yes on hold:) and watching the Simpsons (early years), and during the summer, I I like going to terrasses and I enjoy some walks/rolling:)

    I have never smoked or done drugs and I don’t drink much as I do enjoy a small glass of quality red wine with supper a few times a week; believe it or not, I’ve never been drunk in my life:). I’m a serious athlete, even given my limitations.

    I expect you to be a non smoker, no drugs and drink with moderation if you drink. You should pick up after yourself, I’m not a neat freak, I just like a tidy place. I want a down to earth person, someone not too complicated or demanding, just be happy to be:)

    And as I said before a good level of fitness is very helpful to helping me out:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Your sanctuary just beyond the red curtains
Privacy:)
With the PM at the House of Commons
Winning bronze at the 2012 Paralympic Games
In Ottawa with V, our first Workawayer:)
With Workawayer A:) who has become a good friend, taking her to the airport
My main man from Scotland:) Workawayer Mister C being introduced to wheelchair rugby
Fun at the beach in FLA

Host ref number: 976184869141