Yukon Farm Welcomes Your Help, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 419 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    We are a rural homestead style farm with horses, cows, pigs and chickens looking for help with all aspects of farm life, animal care, field work, house work and cooking. We also have a year round horseback riding program specializing in "natural horsemanship". Accomplished riders and horsemen are welcome! The farm is 40km from downtown Whitehorse and we are surrounded by wilderness. If you seek a simple life in a beautiful landscape we would love to hear from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers who would like to come to this young farm in the Yukon wilderness will spend some time alone. Living a simple life with few conveniences and hard work can help put todays problems in perspective and find joy in simple things.

  • Help

    Help

    We are grateful for help with all aspects of farm operations, field work, house work and animal care. We prefer to have helpers who can stay at least 3-4 weeks as it takes some time to learn the routines. Our life on the ranch is full of hard work. Taking pleasure in working physically with your body would be necessary to have a good time here. Help could be firewood, cleaning (indoors and outdoors), feeding and watering animals, clearing fence lines, picking weeds and sticks from fields and other activities, both inside and outside. If you have special skills we are happy to learn about them. We are delighted if you are an expert horse rider or have knowledge of carpentry, farming or farm animal care, but if you are interested we are also willing to teach you how you can help us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have very simple accommodations and no running water in the cabins. We use outhouses for toilets. There is a pump house with shower and laundry facilities a short walk from the cabins. Our farm is located 40km from the nearest community and there is no public transportation to go to town on short notice. This is a workaway best suited for helpers who enjoy solitude and would enjoy being surrounded by wilderness.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)















Host ref number: 386721922661