Help to transform my farm into a regenerative permaculture farm, in Hedmark Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nilsrud is an idyllic, but previously neglected, small farm in southeast Norway, close to Finnskogen. My wish is to transform it into a regenerative ecosystem, with permaculture marked gardens, food forest, orchard and pastured poultry. I live alone on the farm, with two small dogs, chickens and muscovy ducks. This summer there also will be cows (heifers) grazing on the farm. I have a part time job outside the farm, so work hours will vary. Because I'm gone for work some days it's best for couples or two friends, so you have company while I'm gone. But if you don't mind the alone time you are welcome alone also.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Finnskogen is a beautiful and vast forest with much myth and culture, perfect for exploring hiking or biking.
    You will also learn a lot about regenerative farming, gathering, harvesting, preserving and cooking food, permaculture, animal care as well as slaughtering and preparing meat. You can also learn about norwegian culture, language, history and food.

  • Help

    Help

    I will need help with building chicken tractors, painting, fence building, planting, creating a permaculture food forest, establish a permaculture marked garden and animal care. Making wood chips, compost and firewood. Mainly farm work. I need you to be able to work independently as well as in team, be prepared for manual labour and work in all weather.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay at Lillehuset, a small house a short distance from the main house. The house has a bedroom, a livingroom, a kitchen and a toilet. Electricity, but no indoor plumbing. Water in basement. Fireplace in bedroom, and there is a wood fired stove in the kitchen. There is also a small electric cooker, water kettle and microwave oven. There is no internet in Lillehuset, but limited access in main house. Sheets and washing machine is provided. Shower in main house. Eggs, veggies, spread and bread is in your kitchen so you can make your own breakfast. The days I go to work you must also make your own lunch. All other meals are shared in main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Finnskogen has plenty of beautiful areas to explore, by foot or on bike. Exceptional natural surroundings a short distance from the farm, wich is situated at the edge of the forest.
    The closest city, Elverum, is 30 km away, reachable by bus. Hamar and Kongsvinger are 60 km away, also reachable by bus. You can take bus or train to Oslo from Elverum. Closest town, Våler, with grocery store, second hand store, pharmacy and bus station, is 8 km away. I can help with transport to the bus station if needed.

    The farm is a non smoking area. I accept no drugs, but moderate alcohol consumption in spare time is ok. I live a quiet life. I expect you to partisipate in daily chores, like preparing meals and cleaning up after. Also to keep your house clean and tidy, but you will not be asked to be my maid.
    The food follows seasons and consists mainly of food from the farm. I eat meat, and slaughtering, blood and preparing of the meat is part of the routine on the farm. If you need special food or snacks please bring this yourself.

    The weather in Norway varies a lot, so be prepared for all weather! From freezing temeratures, snow, horizontal rain, sunshine from 3am to 11pm in June and July, and over all cold summer. Beautiful, but cold. In June, July and August we may have warm days, but almost always cold nights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Varies, but maximum 25 hours/week

Host ref number: 973654513787