Share knowledge and experience about sustainability, construction and recycling in Nauta, Peru

Country

Peru

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone!
    I am Angela a Peruvian and I live in a lovely place in Nauta directly on the banks of the Marañon River about 100 km south of Iquitos. Previously I lived in the city and when I arrived here I liked the place and the peasant life so much that I now dedicate myself to sowing, harvesting, raising chickens and living as self-sustaining as I can. The place is simply beautiful. The house has three levels and is surrounded by a large garden that has a wide variety of plants. The river is seen, watch dolphins jumping all the time and when the water is low you can also enjoy the great beach in front of the garden. Something that I also like very much is recycling and I am always sharing knowledge and experience and setting an example how to help the environment. That's why in my house you can find quite a few objects made with creativity and the magic of recycling. More than anything, it is a place to learn, share, enjoy and rest the soul!


    ¡Hola a todos!
    Yo soy Angela una Peruana y vivo en un lugar encantador en Nauta directamente a la rivera del Rio Marañon unos 100 km al sur de Iquitos.
    Anteriormente yo vivia en la ciudad y
    al llegar aqui me gusto tanto el lugar y la vida campesina que ahora me dedico a sembrar, cosechar, criar gallinas y vivir lo mas auto sustenible como puedo.
    El lugar es simplemente hermoso. La casa tiene tres niveles y esta rodeado de un jardin grande que tiene harta diversidad de plantas. Se ve el rio, observa delphines saltando todo el tiempo y cuando el agua esta baja tambien se puede disfrutar la gran playa enfrente del jardin.
    Algo que tambien me gusta mucho es reciclar y siempre estoy compartiendo conocimiento y experencia y dando ejemplo como ayudar al medioambiente. Es por eso en mi casa podras encontrar bastante objetos realizados con creatividad y la magia de reciclaje.

    ¡Mas que todo es un sitio para aprender, compartir, disfrutar y descansar el alma!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Just after I finished the study of Agropecuaria ("Agro" = planting and harvesting of plants / "livestock" = raising and caring for animals). I always like to share everything I know about that topic and also of course I want to learn a lot more.

    I also have many medicinal plants from the region in my garden (like: Guanabana, Pampas oregano, Yerba Luisa, Mint and others ...). They can also learn both planting, harvesting, preparation, use and dosage of how to ingest these natural medicines.

    As I said before in my home I use a lot of recycling everywhere. To give a second life to used and broken objects I transform them into parts of my house, into a new kitchen or anything useful that we can imagine. Basically you can reuse everything with a little fantasy!

    In addition, of course, I am Peruvian from the jungle and I always like to share about the beautiful culture of my country. Especially the typical food (like the famous Cebiche), legends of the jungle, life with the river and the seasons and much more.

    Recien yo termine el estudio de Agropecuaria ("Agro" = sembrio y cosecha de plantas / "pecuaria" = crianza y cuidado de animales). Siempre me gusta compartir todo que yo se sobre esa tema y ademas por supuesto quiero yo tambien aprender mucho mas.

    Tambien tengo muchas plantas medicinales de la region en mi jardin (como: guanabana, pampa oregano, yerba luisa, menta y otros...). Ademas pueden aprender tanto la siembra, cosecha, preparacion, uso y dosis de como ingedir estas medicinas naturales.

    Como dije antes en mi hogar uso bastante reciclaje en todos lados. Para dar una secunda vida a objetos usados y rotos yo transformo les en partes de mi casa, en una nueva cocina o cualquier cosa util que podemos imaginarnos. ¡Basicamente se puede reusar todo con un poco de fantasia!

    Ademas claro, yo soy Peruana de la selva y siempre me gusta mucho compartir sobre la linda cultura de mi pais. Sobre todo la comida typica (como el famoso Cebiche), leyendas de la selva, la vida con el rio y las temporadas y mucho mas.

  • Help

    Help

    El lugar es un processo dynamico y esta creciendo organicamente. Por eso necessito muchas manos que me ayudan.

    The place is a dynamic process and is growing organically. That's why I need many hands that help me. Some tasks for the volunteers would be:
    -maintenance of the garden and house -call and care for the chickens (which are many;) -farm work (work the land, clean, sow, harvest) -arran the construction of the house with recycling and creativity - make adobe walls - finish the pool project (which is almost ready)

    Unas tareas para los voluntarios serian:
    -mantenimiento del jardin y casa
    -cuidar y dar alimentos a las gallinas (que son muchos ;)
    -trabajos de agricultura (trabajar la tierra, limpiar, sembrar, cosechar)
    -avanzar la construccion de la casa con reciclaje y creatividad
    -hacer paredes de adobe
    -terminar el proyecto de la piscina (que ya esta casi lista)

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have nice rooms with mattress, hammock, mosquito net and electricity for volunteers. In addition there is fresh water to drink from a very close ground. In this place you have the option to prepare your food in the authentic way of the jungle that is in the wood stove.

    Tenemos para los voluntarios bonitos habitaciones con colchon, hamaca, mosquitero y electricidad. Ademas hay agua fresca para beber de un poso muy cerca.
    En este lugar tienes la opcion de preperar tus alimentos en la forma autentica de la selva que es en la cocina a leña.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The region offers a variety of activities that is tremendous. For example, swimming and bathing in the river, fishing, walks through the jungle, buying food from the region in the Market in Nauta, visiting indigenous villages or going to hang out in tourist places (100 km to Iquitos, 50 km to the bathtub King Kong, the union of the Ucayali and Amazon rivers where there are quite a few Dolphins, ...).

    La region ofrece una variedad de actividades que es tremendo. Por ejemplo nadar y bañar en el rio, pescar, paseos por la selva, comprar comida de la reguon en el Mercado en Nauta, visitar pueblos indigenas o ir a pasar un rato en los lugares turisticos (100 km a Iquitos, 50 km al bañadero King Kong, la union de los rios Ucayali y Amazonas donde hay bastante Delfines, ...).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 3 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Host ref number: 969212637536