Join a family for a cultural exchange and language practice in Rennes, France



Favourited 18 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Hi y'all and thanks for stopping by !

    We are Alain, Laurianne, Réjane (21') and Alix (16') a French step family of 4 leaving in the Bretagne's capital, Rennes, a charming dynamic city, filled with history and located an hour and half from Paris.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities


    We all had the big chance to travel all around France thanks to some professional transfers.
    Then, you will have the occasion to learn about Alsace (a state with a german background), Aquitaine (the state of wine) and of course our beloved Bretagne, a state surrounded by seas and filled by mystic and medieval history.

    Speaking of that, where you live is located pretty near of a lot of big attractions. Then, it'll be easy for you to reach the Mont St Michel, the Loire Castles, the D'day landing beaches, and of course Paris for a cheap price (about 20 euros).

    What's more ? Laurianne has been an history and french teacher for 20 years and will be more than delight to let you know about the French Kings and our connection throughout Europe. (especially Italy, because she is passionate about The Medicis.)

    FOOD :

    Are French really known for their food ? Hope so, because we don't want to sell ourselves and learn that, it was just a legend.

    We love sharing our culture and we think that around 80% is based on what we will make you discover.
    We have a finest taste for pastries and viennoiseries, and there is so much to discover that we can assure you that you will leave without having taste everything. But we will sure try our best to show you the specialties.

  • Help



    We are currently requiring an american boy or girl to teach us English.
    We all have good skills but will like to be really fluid and get a professional vocabulary.

    We are seeking for a 15h/week planning, a thing that will be establish with you at your arrival, in order to let you pick your free time and match our schedules.

    What's more ?

    You will be a part of the family, which includes involve yourself in the daily chores. (cooking, washing your own clothes, clean the dishwasher...)
    !!! Notice that we are not looking for someone to clean after us !!! But just for someone who will respect the house we are providing, which only implies cleaning after you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation



    We own two apartments on the same floor (a Friends' inspiration if you can get the reference).

    You will have your own room, but notice that, to respect privacy and intimacy, we created a man space in one apartment, and a women one in the other. Then, based on this criteria, your bedroom will be located where you'll be free to feel more comfortable. Same for the bathrooms.

    Wifi will be provided, TV (with a lot of DVD), Netflix, Piano, Aux, Dish washer, Washing machine...


    Cooking is an important and a privileged time in our home. Everyone contributes in their way.
    We have a diversified diet and are really open to taste new things.
    However, please notice that we are not big meat's eaters ! We do like white meat, but the red one does not point the tip of its nose really often in the fridge. But efforts can be made, and Alain will take a huge pleasure to follow you on a burger time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We already exhausted the different location near Rennes, so let's talk about the city itself !


    There is an important transport network (bus, subway, train...) where we live and you will be able to get a bus just by going out of the house (expect on Sundays).

    It takes 20 minutes to reach the down center.

    The subscription's cost to the down center transportation (LE STAR) for a month is about 30 euros, and the ticket itself is 1,50 euros, reusable for an hour.

    If some day you will like to go to the beach by yourself, there is another transportation line (ILENOO), there, it will take you 40 minutes and cost you 4 euros.


    Rennes is a dynamic city where you will find your happiness.

    There's a lot of historic locations to visit like Le Parlement, Le Couvent des Jacobins and the old town...

    We also got an App that will make you discover the city by 4 to 6 circuits of 2km. Then, you will have the joy to see all the churches, the parks and many other things...

    If you want to go out now !

    Rennes is a student city and you will have no problem to meet people, especially on Thursdays night at Rue de la soif. There's a tone of shops, museums and bars...

    What if you want to volunteer somewhere ?

    We have an American Institute that will be really happy to welcome you.
    Then, if you play sports, you will also be able to volunteer at a club.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 968565769635