Help out around a busy family farm with small scale agriculture, forestry and beekeeping in Lyly, Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    377

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family farm busy with small scale agriculture, forestry and beekeeping. We're hoping to find help especially for June, as the beginning of summer is always a busy beekeeping season.

    We are a family of four: parents and two daughters. One of us parents is a Chemistry and Biology teacher, and the other one a librarian. We're looking for a volunteer who genuinely likes being around children and who sees a farmstay not only as volunteer work abroad but most importantly as cultural exchange and a chance to get to know new friends. We can only take one volunteer at a time, or possibly a small family.

    Our beautiful farm is surrounded by scenic fields and forests, and it is situated by a small lake suitable for swimming. It is a quiet place: a twenty-minute drive away from the train station, the local village centre, and the nearest grocery store, and an hour's drive from Tampere, where we quite often go for various activities. The Art Town Mänttä is also only a twenty minute drive away from our farm.

    We're LGBT friendly and hope that you are, too!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm guests will live our everyday life with us, getting to know our way of life. You'll get a chance to take a peek at Finnish country life from an insider's point of view, and you'll for instance learn about beekeeping in practice. Our scenic and quiet farm is also a perfect place just for relaxing.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to host a helper interested or already experienced in beekeeping, as we are always busy with beekeeping during summer, especially in June. We appreciate help in gardening, cooking and making firewood.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a small and cozy cottage near the house for your accommodation. You're most welcome to have breakfast, lunch and dinner with us, and you're also free to use our kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is a good choice for vegan travellers, as the adult usually in charge of cooking in the house is vegan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 967442613119