Experience the peace and tranquility and help with various projects around my home in rural Occitanie, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 820 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an independent, free spirited 52 year old Australian who will be living most of the year in France when I am not running my charity overseas. I have been living the last 2 years in Florence, Italy but now it is time to return to France and do some much needed work around my house. I am qualified primary school teacher who has taught in the west (Australia, France, Italy and the UK) and in Tanzania, Ghana, Sudan, China, and Thailand. I founded a small community school in Thailand and for three years we had a constant stream of amazing workaways. I could not have achieved what I did without them. I also founded an educational maths charity that operates in Tanzania, Zambia and Nepal.

    I am a vegetarian, who is into mindfulness, breathworks, yoga and also enjoys a laugh. My number one passion is backpacking, preferably on the road less travelled, followed closely by volunteering which I have done since I was a young child.

    When I am at home I borrow my neighbours black Labrador each day when she goes to work so be aware that some days a very happy lab will be about.

    If you have your own dog, it is of course most welcome in my home!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an avid backpacker and have travelled to more than 100 countries, along with teaching, my passion is travel. I can share my knowledge of the world and you can experience the peace and tranquility of rural France.

    I am an open minded person who values integrity and honesty in people.

  • Help

    Help

    I have small projects and larger ones. I want to sort out my garden, I have a small forest area that I want to create something. I like the rustic feel and feel the area has potential, I just need some inspiration and helping hands. I want to build a leaf composting toilet and a storage area for my wood. There are small odd jobs around the house- painting, rendering, gardening, mowing, pruning etc. I have a couple of small plumbing jobs inside the house like mending a broken sink and inserting a new bathroom cabinet.

    All of the above are things I want to do over the next couple of years so am happy to go with your interest/passions

    Charity Help - INSTAGRAM
    I am in need of someone savvy to help with my charity Instagram, to get it up and running and help me organise posts and reels (I am a bit clueless in this area).



    .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house is small but gorgeous and has 140km views of the Pyrenees (on a good day). It is situated on a ridge. The closest town is 4 km away and there you can find just about everything. I am one hour south of Toulouse.

    You will have your own bedroom and share the lounge, dining, kitchen and bathroom with me.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can take off for a walk from my house. There is an outdoor swimming pool in town. I have a bike you can borrow. The closest town is L'isle en Dodon. There is great walking in the Pyrenees and the Spanish border is about an hour away... a good day trip for tapas, good wine and cheaper petrol!

    There is a local bus that cost just over 2 Euros that goes from Lisle En Dodon into Toulouse city if you wish to explore its sights!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I am surrounded by farm land so I am sure if we ask my farmer neighbour, you could park up your van.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs most welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)































Host ref number: 967338626658