Experience off-grid living on a family horse breeding farm in Hungary

Country

Hungary

updated   Last minute

Favourited 289 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2541

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 2 living on a farm breeding Morgan horses (the only one as such) in Hungary in a secluded picturesque valley appr. 40 km from Budapest. If you love horses and wish to experience real rural and ranch life, and do not shy away from hard work getting your hands dirty in all sorts of weather conditions - this is for you! :)

    We are constantly looking for volunteers to help around our horses. More specific are these 3 months:
    In March we have to do general farms maintenance, like fixing fences, hay feeders, tidy up paddocks and tracks after the winter.
    Normally April and May are the foaling months, when the pregnant mares have to be closely monitored.
    May / June are normally our breeding month, so for these 3 months we are mostly looking for voluntary help from people with horse (foaling / breeding) experience.

    We also welcome help from trainers experienced in natural horsemanship through feel starting our young horses and working with those already under saddle. Our horses are used to Western tack and can be ridden occasionally , however I must say that we are not a riding facility.
    The minimum stay is at least 2 weeks but we are also looking for longer term volunteers. The longer you can stay, the better... ;)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our horse boarding facility is unique and it streches over 5 hectares: the horses (5-10) are kept in a herd environment 24/7 on a “track system” with limited access to rotational grazing. You can learn about what is called a “Paddock Paradise” system encouraging natural herd behaviour, while offering sustainable pasture management. We are the only Morgan horse breeding program in Eastern Europe, so you can be part of a pioneer project. We produce some of our own hay that normally has to be harvested in June. The farm is completely off-grid, which meand we are not connected to any public network (water, sewage or electricity) so it is your opportunity to see how self sufficiancy works in real life.

  • Help

    Help

    General farm help is needed around our Morgan herd: feeding, grooming, mucking out, dealing with foals and young horses including stallions. Experience in western riding / training is an advantage. I would really love to have an experienced Western riding instructor to help in horse riding training. Hand breeding and foaling in the breeding season: March - June. Working around the horse farm doing maintenance, such as electric and wooden fencing, mowing, etc. Driving a van / trailer could also come in handy ;) There is always something to do on a farm - never a boring day! Help around the house like cooking / cleaning is also much appreciated! We are a non-smoking farm..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, Hungarian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our guests have all the upstairs of the house for themselves: we have 3 guest rooms (1 single, 1 twin and 1 double) available and a separate shared bathroom with shower and toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our Farm is a pleasant 50 minutes train ride from Budapest (station is appr. 10 minutes drive) with everything our beautiful and exciting Hungarian capital can offer from history, art, wellness to culinary delights.
    The nearest town (Veresegyház) has all the infrastructure you need and is only 10 minutes drive from us, this is where normally we do our weekly shopping and has some nice restaurants, bakeries and coffee shops... It boasts also with a Bear Farm, a Thermal Bath and a Ice-skating ring (in the winter)...
    We are speaking English at home because we are a Norwegian - Hungarian couple, (with no kids) so cultural exchange is a natural part of our daily life. We have 3 dogs, 1 sheep and 2 cats (1 in the house) We grow some of our own vegetables in raised beds and started a small orchard, and have plans to further develop our ability to be self-sufficient. We love Italian, Greek and Hungarian cooking and lots of coffee :)
    3 meals: breakfast, cooked dinner in the middle of the day and supper are provided by us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 5 hours / 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 247577438757