Help us by the Sea in St Leonards, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    We are a blended family.

    Our home is in a small bayside village about 100km from Melbourne. There is a ferry 10km from where we live which goes across the bay into the city of Melbourne.

    We have been hosting various travelers through Workaway from different parts of the world and we are loving how much our lives have been enriched as a result.

    We are looking for a traveler who can help us with projects around our home. We are a hands on Do It Yourself Family and we are in a constant state of creation, looking at what needs to be done around our home and what can be added to improve what we already have.

    We are definitely on a path to being environmentally aware and are in a state of learning and adapting our life as a family to improve our carbon imprint. Often our projects relate to ways in which we are trying to improve our home and garden to be more environmentally friendly. We have recently made a change to our eating habits too and we are now eating a largely plant based diet. We do still include a very small amount of dairy in our diet. We are also on a path to trying to minimise our sugar intake. We are basically trying to have a healthy diet. The reason we tell you about this in our profile is because we provide travelers who stay with us in the capacity of Workaway with their daily meals, so we try to prepare people who might be interested in staying with us before they make any inquiries.

    We run a rental from home, which is another way for us to meet new and interesting people. There has been the odd occassion in the past where we have asked people staying with us through Workaway to help with changeovers for our rental, but we want people who might wish to stay with us to know that this is not an opportunity for regular paid work. If you are looking for regular paid work, we encourage you to look elsewhere. We manage the rental independently and very rarely need help. Apologies if the tag on a profile appears misleading. It was added when we first invited inquiries when we needed occassional help with the rental and the tag has stuck, eventhough the situation is definitely changeable and more often than not the reason we like to have travelers stay with us is to get some assistance with finishing off jobs around the property or gardening.

    We also enjoy music and have various instruments and we enjoy hearing other's play and when the opportunity presents we also like playing music with other's. There is no pressure for people to have an interest in music, we only mention this as it might hold some appeal for musically minded people.

    We ask for the standard 20 hours of help per week in exchange for accommodation and meals. Whether you come to us with lots of skills you have previously learned or not, we don't mind, as long as you come with a great attitude to give tasks a go and have a willingness to lend a helping hand; we will be happy!

    We are located close to The Great Ocean Road and there are opportunities to explore the local surrounds. As mentioned there are two ferries close by, one which travels into Melbourne city and the other which travels to Sorrento a beautiful exclusive historic town on the Mornington Peninsula. We also love including the people we have stay with us in family outings when we have the opportunity.

    We have a cute retro caravan which is a quiet hangout and home away from home for a Workawayer.

    We are happy to act as a sounding board with traveling plans and possibilities based on our own experience and based on information exchanged with our previous workawayers. We have also helped some of our Workaway travelers source cars cheaply for their travels.

    We usually work on two week stays, but this may alter depending on our needs or needs expressed of the workawayer.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

    Singles only please.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to live in a lovely part of Victoria, on the beach of our Port Phillip Bay, 30 mins drive from wonderful surf beaches, local walks and cycle paths abound and there are a heap of really nice places within easy reach of a days return drive. Torquay Bells Beach, the You Yangs, Geelong,
    A ferry goes to Melbourne from nearby Portarlington and another ferry goes from nearby Queenscliff to Sorrento on the other side of the bay. Both are reasonably priced.
    Lots to explore on your time off.
    We have various bikes and other wheeled vehicles which you may use, plus snorkeling gear, surfboards, tennis rackets and camping gear etc etc, just the usual family clutter.
    During your hands on helping time you will get to hang out with both ends of the age scale. Both parents are self employed and work around the children and if things pan out that way we would love you to babysit occasionally.
    If you come to stay with us you will see a busy household where lots of different things happen to give us a pretty average but very open and happy life with three lively young Australians to entertain you thrown in!
    You will get a sense of their lives and see the world through their eyes whilst you enrich their lives with glimpses into your world. We love hosting people for bnb and getting an opportunity to meet new people . We are loving this new experience with Workaway!
    Clive came to Australia from the UK when he was 23 as a backpacker and found work, love and a life full of adventure which saw him living in Darwin, Aboriginal communities, New Zealand and Victoria. There may be a thing or two, as we say, that you may relate to Clive about.
    Sandy is first generation Australian with her two parents who migrated to Australia separately from Germany. Sandy has done her share of traveling, she travelled to America as an exchange student for a year and stayed with 5 different host families in that time and was in the music Industry mostly touring to different parts of the East Coast of Australia with bands.
    Both Clive and Sandy love music and Clive plays one instrument or another (none of them very well he would say, but other's would disagree and say he is great) and Sandy loves to sing any time Clive is in the mood to play an instrument. Although Clive detests playing publicly, the odd Workawayer has when the mood strikes Clive, heard Clive and Sandy play and sing the occasional song.
    For animal lovers, we have two dogs, both adopted, one a rescue Greyhound, Basil and the other a Brittany Spainiel, Hercules. Both dogs are about 7 years old. You are welcome to take the dogs for a walk whenever you like, they will love you forever!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    The work will be some kind of hands on work, where building/maintenance/gardening skills will be needed.

    We work project to project and we will gladly provide more information on specific projects when Workaway inquiries come to us.

    Some upcoming projects include:
    - Repurposing an existing garden bed for a new productive vegetable patch
    - Fitting out an Outdoor Room which is the home of our beloved Greyhound Basil to also become to a productive Green House, Drying Room and General Garden Shed
    - De-Cluttering & Clearing out space under the carport to create an AlFresco Area/Chill Out Zone/Home Gym

    We really need inquiries from people who don't mind turning their hand to a variety of activities which will help keep the main tasks being undertaken by us to run smoothly.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private room/caravan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 966799899453