Help stay at our small farm and enjoy the great nature outside of Prague, Czech republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are young family living on a little farm close to Prague (40min), looking for a help during the week. We have a dog (little french buldog, not a farmdog indeed, but we love her), some chicken and poultry, few sheeps, little field and we can always use a helpful hand. Me, my wife and three little kids are taking care of the animal and living calm farmlife. However it's hard to sustain with only that, so i am working in Prague few days a week as restorer.
    We have many friends from Prague that are visiting us often, just to breathe out for a while, rest, play some music at the studio, paint or just chill and smoke some herb. Even though we are so close to the big cities, we are cut out of the civilization, in pure spotless breathtaking nature, rural life. We are very active family, sometimes we need to get out of our stereotypes and that's why you're invited to our house. Our kids don't speak English, (neither me so much) and we want to get to know some foreigners.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We might use any help you good at or like, chop up some wood for the heating, if you want, dig up some vegetables and cook us a meal, play some game with our children (2,6,11 y/o), help me with the house (there's allways something), feed the chickens and lamb, give us any advice. I am working as a restorer of old sculptures, frames, or wooden funriture, i am also an artist, studied painting and i am playing drums and we have great advantage of being totally without any neighbours, so we have huge equipped room for playing drums, bongos, guitar, singing, anything you want as loud you want. I am also painting a lot when i have spare time, i just grab some papers, a stand, colours and go out in the nature. I can teach or help you if you'd like some advices, i am a landscape specialist.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two 2-floor buildings, however it wouldnt make sense to heat up both, so we can offer you our guest room just in our main house. 2-3 people can fit , it's cozy with your very own piano, heated up.
    Food we offer is mostly grown on our farm, few times a week some meat we kill on the court, eggs, quite anything you want. We of course buy stuff in close village supermarket, but our food is simple ingredient based, we cook Czech and Slovak dishes (as my wife is from Slovakia) and she's a chef! We are open to anything.

    During the summer night we could accomodate up to 10 people in our atelier/studio/music/workshop house. We also have barn full of cute newborn little sheeps :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As i already mentioned, if you like any kind of art, handmade stuff (we've good equipped workshop), live music, painting.
    If you like nature and, you'll love it here. Breathtaking landscapes, we're hiking around very often with children and a little Pippy, farmlife, swimming in the nearby lake, forrest walks, mushroom picking...
    I am going few times a week to Prague and back, with kids or without, and i often sleep in Prague, i am a metropole grown guy who moved in the nature, so i can take you some times for few days, it depends on the schedule (you'd have to adapt my schedule, as i am freelance worker), but in any case, there is a bus twice a day that takes you to the capital (3e, less than an hour).

    If you like nature, farmlife, you'll like it, but on another hand, i have to say, we are kinda cut out of civilization, our village has 5 inhabittants, (only us)... 3km is the closest village (+/- 1000 inh.) with all you need, a pub, market. Bigger cities 8km. Prague 50km :-) It's calm and nice place, if it's what fits you, you're more than welcome in our farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 965963917828