Help with renovating an old stone house and with gardening in a small village near Bordeaux, France

Country

France

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Julien and Caroline are a mid thirties couple living with one dog, 3 cats and a bunny. We just bought an old stone house with a lot a space. The house is located in a small village 30 km away from Bordeaux, we do have all the commodities availlable by foot (Bakery, grocery shop, doctor, Library). If you like contryside life you'll love it here, and you wont be isolated. You can go to Bordeau by bus (1 hour).
    We try to renovate the house we live in and the many workspaces dedicated to my work as indie natural dyer, and to Julien's work as a cabinetmaker. We also try to rebuild an old cinema, with old 35mm movie projector.
    Our goal is to renovate half the house in order to build a gîte, all skills are welcome. If you like to work on old houses, stones walls, wooden doors and floors with 100 year of history come and help us renovate it little by little.

    I've been to Japan, Canada, USA, England and Senegal, Julien travelled to Madagascar, USA and Canada. We do live a quiet life dedicated to crafts (I'm also a knitter and knitting designer).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're handy and would like to work while learning natural dyeing I can show you, and might need help with sewing and dyeing fabrics. We are quiet people, and would love to trade some good travel stories against some good homemade meals and local wines.

  • Help

    Help

    For now we need help with renovating the second half of the house : plaster, plumbing, electricity, renovating and isolating the rooms, painting. If you have construction skills, you're welcome. If you have some knowledge and experience in renovating all your help and advices are welcome.
    In spring we would like to grow a small vegies garden, maybe grow some dyeing plants for my work. I 'll also need some help with indigo dyeing and with Shibori (sewing and stitching techniques).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have you own room with wifi. Shared bathroom, kitchen and living room. Be aware that we live with 3 cats and a big dog, all animals are very friendly and close to us. They live inside the house except for the giant rabbit " blacky".
    We are early birds, so be ready to get up around 8 (Julien ususally get's up at 6AM).
    We eat mostly fresh and local homemade food. We are french and we eat cheese, bread, meat and all kind of vegies and fruits. If you have a vegan or vegeratian diet we won't change our diet to accomodate you, but we would love to learn and try some of the food you can cook us from time to time. Hopefully we can work something out together, but sometimes you'll have to feed yourself on what we provide that suits your diet, or buy your own food if it's really something specific.
    We speak french and english.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Julien smokes, and I don't. No smocking inside the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.



Host ref number: 962913785983