Be a friendly face for our guests and learn to live simply in one of the most beautiful places on the planet, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua



Favourited 301 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hello! My name is Dale Dagger and I've spent my life looking for the best places to stay. I've been sailing from San Francisco to the Colombian border, since 1978, looking for cool places to stay.

    The magic of it is... I found one - Playa Gigante, Nicaragua. Nestled on the south pacific coast, between 14 sick surf breaks.

    So I stopped sailing in 1998 and started building.

    So now, I have a sailboat anchored in my front yard and have a collection of houses, bungalows, dorms rooms, surf shacks, all located right on the beach with some of the best sailing and surfing conditions in the world.

    It's as if Nicaragua is stuck in a time warp. You'll hear plenty of 80s music over the radio. The government hasn't been strong enough to really physically impact our lives outside of the metropolitan centers of the country such as Managua, Leon and Granada.

    Here on the coast we don't even think about it. The government suppression doesn't affect us here.

    We are, however, affected by the rising and setting of the sun and whether or not there is swell. The swell direction, by the way, is not as important as the swell period. Not everyone surfs, but a lot of people do.

    However, in Playa Gigante fishing is more important than surfing. You know when the fishing is good because you can see the smiles on the fishermans faces and you can walk the beach and come home with fresh fish for prices that you'll brag to your friends about.... because it's stupid cheap here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn to live simply in one of the most beautiful places on the planet. We have no atm in town and only one bus a day, just to give you an idea.
    Learning spanish is probably the first thing you should do. The local spanish school is 30 feet away on the beach.

    Learn to surf, learn to sail, learn to let go and roll with it.

  • Help


    We are NOT looking for people to work and take jobs away from the locals. We don't need anyone to sit at our reception desk.
    What we are looking for is a friend! Someone to be here and interact with our guests. Be a friendly face and tour guide for the town.
    We have several ideas we would love to get off the ground. If you can operate an outboard motor on a boat, or have other boating skills we would love to have you. If you know about Wood Epoxy Saturation Techniques , we would LOVE to have you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Listen to the waves break as you drift off to sleep at night.

    You will be staying in a shared dorm room right on the beach with a shared kitchen and bathroom. The fans keep everyone cool, in fact some beds are too cold to sleep in they say.

    We have free wifi and are only 5 min walk to the closest surf break and the most beautiful virgin beach in the Americas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Once you come here, you will never want to leave. You will be accepted into the community in no time.
    We are 5 min walk to Playa Amarilla and 30 min to Playa Colorado. 30 min drive to Santana and 40 min to Popoyo.

    We can pick up you from Managua or Rivas if you are staying with us.

    While you're here we can arrange trips to Rivas to go to the grocery store and atm. We can give you a discount on a moto rental as well. Transport wont be an issue once you're here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of room

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have five dogs a d three cats. Too much drama

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 962285321737