Looking for help with Dog minding - Langley BC Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 169 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    271

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Jan-Feb/April needed -other dates flexible

    Looking for help with Dog minding - dog walking with medium sized to large dogs required

    Dear Work-Awayers :-)

    Dates absolutely needed:

    20 Jan - Mid Feburary (minimum stay 3 weeks)

    First week of April - 3 weeks.



    We are a Dutch couple who have lived in Canada for 5 years. We have shared our home with many travellers for the last 10 years in both Australia and in Canada.Our two dogs are a 9 year old Samoyed x retriever boy called Juneau, and a 7 year old Husky x lab girl called Lyla. They both walk very well on the leash together, although Lyla has more energy than Juneau does. They both love cuddles and are very sweet in nature. Lyla was adopted this year and initially had strong reactions to dogs on leash. We have been training her and her behavior has significantly improved. She does however still have the tendencies to be reactive when she sees small dogs. We therefore do need you have to have had experience walking with large breed dogs. Lyla responds well to treats and as such can be easily distracted from reactions. We will also train you to work well with them. Juneau has arthritis and he has started to walk slower over time (even though he is on medication). This is why we prefer to have 2 people look after them.


    The dogs get walked typically 3 times a day, in the morning I take them to the forest. This is a good time for us to train new travelers in our home how to walk the dogs. You will need to have a driving licence (preferably a car but not necessary) so thatyou are able to take the dogs to some nice areas. Monique (me) works part time typically between 1-9 pm. On some days she starts work in the morning and finishes around 6 pm. This means that the majority of the work for the traveler will take place in the afternoon (2 walks with the dogs).
    This means we require you to be available for about 3 hours a day -max 5 hours. In exchange we provide room and board.
    We often have other workawayers or travellers stay with us so we do need everybody to be respectful and get along. You must be an absolute non-smoker, nor excessive use of alcohol (absolutely no drugs) trustworthy and mature.

    We have hosted many workawayers and travellers for many years and have had great experiences.

    We are a Dutch professional couple no kids, and speak German fluent, French and Italian somewhat and other European languages some sentences here and there :-)

    Please contact us for more information. We do typically have 1 or 2 video based interviews.

    Ps: All other dates are not urgent but we are often able to have work-awayers stay with us.
    Thanks so much,
    Monique and Ingo

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being part of Canada's most beautiful province BC, will give them the experience of mountains, lakes, forests and waterfalls. We have traveled extensively throughout the world and understand what it is like for backpackers to have a place to call home

  • Help

    Help

    Dog care/walking experience essential

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    NL, Eng, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Greek, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a home with a large backyard. We have currently 1 bedroom available for workawayers - but 2 beds are available

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not tolerate any drug or alcohol abuse and our property is non-smoking. We have a lot of respect for our guests and we require the same. We enjoy showing people around, share meals and stories (lots of travel stories :-) but it is based on mutual respect and reciprocity in helping each other out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hrs/day










Host ref number: 961451367716