Welcome to our home and garden in the sunny South of France.

Country

France

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English couple living in Maureillas, a traditional French village 30 minutes drive from gorgeous sandy beaches, 30 minutes in the opposite direction and you are in the mountains or a 3 hour walk takes you across the border into Spain.
    Having spent the last few years renovating the house next door as our holiday let business our own home and garden are now in need of an overhaul to get us back on track. We have set aside our gite for the whole month of November to offer you a lovely comfortable place to stay, there are 4 double bedrooms so we can welcome a few work awayers at the same time and make a fun enviroment to get to know one another.
    We love gardening and have a productive vegetable patch that we plan to organise by installing a series of permenant pathways, we have a shed to dimantle and rebuild, an old stone wall to free of it's ivy and there is plenty of weeding and general maintenance to be done. We will be undertaking the work ourselves and are looking for strong pairs of hands to give us some help. We will also be sanding and painting shutters and the window frames and a bit of general refreshing of paintwork.
    We enjoy cooking, especially outdoors, using fresh local ingredients and find great pleasure in sharing meals and laughter with the wonderful friends we have made here. We eat meat and fish but you are welcome to cook your own veggie options in the gite kitchen if you prefer.
    Our hobbies include mountain biking and hiking and we love to show guests our local paths and trails.
    This is our first Workaway experience and we are looking forward to meeting you!
    Ade and Hazel

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would be happy to help you improve your English (we do both speak basic French too) and introduce you to locals who would be happy to chat to you in French. I am part of a local scheme that teaches different languages for free so I have experience in helping make those little improvements that can make all the difference.
    We have a broad knowledge of gardening in both the UK and France and would love to share our ideas and enthusiasm.
    Cooking is another hobby and we preserve lots of our home grown fruit and veg into jams and chutneys and prepare meals with a global influence, exchanging recipes and techniques is a great way to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    Installing a series of pathways in the veggie garden will involve digging, wheelbarrowing a lot of gravel, sand and cement, and concrete mixing - all quite heavy but unskilled work. Removing ivy will require patience and digging out overgrown borders is quite straight forward. We will be working on the projects too so no technical experience is necessary. Painting the shutters and window frames will require attention to detail and patience but it isn't a complicated process.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in our gite which is just next door to our house. There are four double bedrooms here (two of them have their own en-suite bathrooms) and you may be sharing the rest of the gite with other work-awayers
    We have high speed WiFi
    We will cook and eat together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our surroundings offer beautiful walks or mountain bike trails into the cork forests.
    The village has a couple of bars, a restaurant, bakery, shop etc and a very friendly community waiting to greet you with a cheery "bonjour"
    We have a couple of road bikes that you are welcome to borrow and there is a local bus service but you may want to bring or hire a car to explore the wider area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 961113977878