Help with day-to-day tasks at my hostel in Du Gia Village, Ha Giang, Vietnam

Country

Vietnam

Favourited 371 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4583

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!

    I started my hostel 6 months ago in the small village of Du Gia, 70km away from Ha Giang City, in the wonderful north Vietnam. Many ethnic minorities (Tay, Dao, Hmong) live in here and in the beautiful surrounding mountains (we are down in the valley). We have no ATM or supermarket.

    I invite you to stay here with me and my family to help with the lodge, ensure that it works smoothly by working daily and advising me where improvements can be made. It would also be great if you have social media / website skills to keep things beautiful. I offer free food for your help and you also have at least one free beer per day.

    I would ideally like to welcome volunteers who are committed to helping the hostel operate to its best potential while at the same time making sure it keeps its local feel, and that the local enviroment, culture and people are respected and protected. Hopefully you will be able to stay for one month, but shorter visits are ok too.

    Spending time here is worth it as you have time to really discover the north-Vietnam culture.

    I hope to hear from you soon.

    Please only message us if you are serious about helping us. As we understand your plans may change on the road we would really appreciate the help.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As Du Gia is still not really visited by tourists, it remains a really authentic village. So the first and big cultural exchange you will benefit is about local people. Three main ethnicities are represented here and they live off the land - growing rice, corn etc, and breding animals. During your free time, you can walk around Du Gia and meet these people who always will welcome you with a smile: perfect opportunity to learn about their culture, way of life, their history, their language.

    Finally, living with me and my Tay family, you will be immersed in the daily Vietnamese life. Where most of people just stop for one night, you will get a special opportunity to experience the Vietnamese people.

  • Help

    Help

    This little village is still a remote place and only a few tourists come here to complete the well-known Ha Giang loop. Since several volunteers helped me to put the place on the map, we welcome more and more guests.

    I now need two friendly, mature and flexible volunteers to help make sure the hostel runs smoothly. This may include welcoming guests (good english necessary), preparing beds, cleaning the dorm etc. Computer/business-related tasks/ online/social media work would also be very helpful if you have the skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Vietnamese, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in a large dormitory or in a double bed room, large bed and comfortable. Our hostel is a quiet place - you will love staying with the locals and soon you will know everyone here if you stay enough time!

    I offer three free meals a day - delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner. I also give you at least a beer, a free cafe every day.

    You are welcome to help us cook dinner for your family if you want to learn the style of North Vietnams style cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of hikings paths, moutains, rivers, waterfalls and local markets - you will never be bored here! There is no ATM , no Supermarket and no Bar.

    You can arrive by motorbike, or by local bus from Ha Giang.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approx. 3 - 4 hours a day.max 20 hours/week
















Host ref number: 959222268796