Help me with circular economy project and some daily life things in Cuenca, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Damian, I am from Ecuador and I work as a Social Researcher in the Inclusive Circular Economy Research Group at the University of Cuenca. My area of study is circular economy and social development. My hobbies are music and photography. I traveled as a backpacker and worked in volunteer programs in America, Europe and Africa. A year ago I have returned to Ecuador and now I am looking to develop some life goals, so I have decided to seek support in Workaway.

    I am currently working on the following projects:

    *University researcher
    *waste management and promotion of recycling
    *Working with grassroots recyclers
    *Interviews with local actors to promote knowledge on circular economy issues. Streamer project
    * Promoting consumption of local brands and small producers @islatricolor

    The volunteer will participate in administrative activities and will be part of the creative team in the design and implementation of strategies that allow the positioning of the projects within the local community, seeking the acceptance and promotion of these ideas under the principles of circular economy and local and sustainable development.

    I will host volunteers in my apartment, a comfortable place with great location, close to the city center. My home is close to all the cultural and commercial areas of the city such as museums, bars, cafes and the historical center which is a world heritage site. Also, Cuenca is one of the most beautiful cities in Ecuador, full of green areas, 4 rivers around the city and many cultural and social activities.

    The house also serves as a creative space for the development of music and art in general.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will directly become part of the planning and execution team, sharing responsibility and trust for the growth of the projects.

    This means a space to share concepts of circularity and social economy. You can also consider these spaces as a laboratory for creative social experiments.

  • Help

    Help

    The volunteer should develop

    Management of platforms such as Zoom, Meet.
    Programs such as Canva or design tools.
    Elaborate social networks material.
    Possessing videos and fotos related to the subject and all the material deemed necessary.

    The volunteer have 2 different objectives:
    1) Assist in the execution of communication strategies for the projects described above. This involves creating content for social networks, participating in the design of strategies, finding potential collaborators and supporting the participation in events. Knowledge in illustration software (Adobe - Canva) and experience in creative processes, social media management and positioning strategies is a plus.

    2) Help with housekeeping tasks. This involves as much as necessary repair spaces, house care, , collaborating in the improvement of the space and preparation of 1 meal a day


    We are looking for a volunteer with a proactive attitude and social skills . We propose a schedule of 25 hours that can be divided throughout the week. We need one volunteer for a minimun of 2 weeks. (2 volunteers could be discussed according to the situation)
    .

    In the future we would like to be able to start cultural spaces according to the values of the projects for the city.
    For all this, we need people with creative ideas, strategist, with warm mind, hands always ready to help good talker and not afraid to propose and execute creative ideas. All ideas are welcome.

    Good coexistence and harmony in home is very important.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in my apartment. The volunteer has his or her own room and bathroom, as well as all the comforts of home.

    At home we always have fruit, vegetables and all the basic stuffs to cook (rice, sugar, oil). The volunteers is free to use this food everyday. Special food like meet, cereal, yogurt, etc its responsibility of the volunteer.

    I will buy the food and volunteers can cook as much as they want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cuenca is a city that offers a great variety of cultural activities and entertainment. Next to the apartment there is a large amount of green areas and it is a 10 minute walk to downtown and commercial areas. Its visitors will find a cosmopolitan/conservative fusion where they can enjoy and live together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    El hogar puede servir como lugar de trabajo

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 Hours/ week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 385789751743