Help running an amazing natural kids playground and a cafe in Powiat Zamojski, Poland



Favourited 37 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Mother’s help January-April in Poland

    A winter volunteering opportunity for a willing girl or a couple with manual skills! Please read carefully before replying though!

    We run a small eco project: Natural and Recycled Playground and natural workshops during summer and in winter we do lots of preparing and we really could use some background help - cooking, tidying up, playing with kids, taking the little one (16m) Karina for walks and the older daughter Gaia to/from preschool (2mins walk).

    For the right person (couple) we will offer an independent room in a local B&B, few minutes walk from us.

    Work is easy and relaxed although often will be scattered throughout the day so it’s unlikely you will have 5h ”shift” straight.

    We believe in living closer to nature and using less plastic. I sew baby clothes out of recycled woolen jumpers, I want to open a small online shop with recycled net-curtain fruit shopping bags, beeswax wraps, hemp wash-clothes, wooden toys etc. We also need time to prepare workshops for summer. In order to do all that we need help with daily tasks, cooking, tidying up, playing with the kids, shopping etc. We have a manual car which you will be able to use occasionally. You must be easy around kids and ideally have some experience with them, either siblings or family or childcare, this is essential, as well as native or professional English - one of the reasons we want an international volunteer is the English exposure!

    You will be a part of the family during your stay, and will always be welcome to come with us on frequent trips etc. But you will also have lots of free time and total privacy in an independent accommodation. If there is more work we will gladly pay for the extra hours.

    For a couple we can offer the same accommodation and while one person would do the “mother’s help” sort of tasks, the other could help my husband to do some manual wood work, some light construction work, maintenance, also some crafts for me. All to be arranged with the right people according to their skills and preferences!

    We need people all through the summer, too, so if it suits both sides, the offer could be extended :-) Potentially you could stay with us from January till October (or even a whole year) although from May the accommodation would be most likely in our summerhouse outside the town. If you feel like you need to quit your current life and take a deep breath to reconsider what you want to do, this might just be the right place for you! We promise some inspiring and thought-provoking conversations about life and all :-)

    The area is really beautiful, we are located in the middle of National Park, close to nature. It's one of the most restful and peaceful places I know!


    We are Aleks, Jarek, Gaia (4,5) and Karina (15m) a very friendly family living in a small town (outside of season, in summer we live in the old schoolhouse-our-summerhouse in a village nearby) in a beautiful part of Poland, practically inside National Park. We live close to nature and cook healthy, mostly organic food. We are very social humans so we just thrive when there is a bunch of people nearby that we can spend time with, cook and eat with and share ourselves for the mutual benefit. Saying that - we enjoy our private space, too and we appreciate that most people like their privacy so we're very considerate. We are trying our best to bring our kids up in a conscious way, respecting their individuality but also creating necessary boundaries so they can feel safe and secure in their home environment. It's important for us and we are quite devoted to the idea of utilising contemporary psychological knowledge to support those fantastic brand new human beings on their journey into the society and the world. We need help with daily home stuff, cooking, shopping, babysitting etc. all year round and for warmer months we have this fantastic project where you can help while living in an old wooden schoolhouse building. The area is quiet and peaceful so it will suit somebody who enjoys being around nature and things like spotting deers on a walk through the forest.

    The town itself is beautiful, too, and a popular tourist destination in the summer season, outside the season it is quieter, but the views are spectacular and nearly every walk is full of picturesque scenes.

    We have a bicycle rental in the family and we like going for trips nearby, you will be provided with a bike if you stay in our summerhouse from spring onwards.

    We used to live in London for over 10 years and now we are back to our homeland. While we love being close to our families we also miss the cultural diversity. We would love to meet people from all around the world.

    We love to socialise and not only meeting but getting to know - on a deeper level - people from all over the world. We love a good conversation over a glass of wine or a cup of tea in the evening. We’re interested in photography (have photo equipment for a home studio), healthy eating (we eat meat but avoid factory farmed one and happily cook vegetarian) and natural living, cooking, travelling, psychology, social studies, the way people live and think all around the world. We like spending time outdoors and enjoy frequent trips to forage mushroom or simply explore the nature.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well-travelled and open-minded people who are respectful and considerate. But we are also very Polish and happy to be part of this community. The life in our town is rather simple as there is no heavy infrastructure so the Workawayers can witness and take part in a daily reality of slightly underdeveloped Poland (we are on the South-East of the country and the mentality here is very different than on the Western parts). We have many sites (museums etc) here where you can have a look at how people used to live before in the past two centuries. We visit those places happily to show them to our daughter.

  • Help


    Warmer half of the year (roughly April to October) - we have an old wooden schoolhouse building in a village nearby that we have turned into a ticketed natural kids playground. We have updates to the project and a clear idea what needs to be done, but we need help actually doing it. It’s an eco project, we are running a natural playground, using old, recycled or natural materials with as little plastic as possible. Mud kitchen, tree house, wicker hut, vegetable garden etc. There is a lot of work around there and it would suit practical people who like some manual work.

    All year round - we would appreciate help with regular household duties, some cooking, tidying up, going for walks with our baby or playing with our 4-yo daughter and using English with her (we would like her to use more English, she only knows a little).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Winter - for the right person (or a couple) we will rent a room in a local B&B so you will be few minutes away and will have your privacy when required. It’s a investment on our part as it’s not very cheap but we love the idea of an international volunteer around so we can expose our kids to a different culture, also we appreciate the value of a volunteer work, it’s quite different, it’s like a mission and believe me - your help is much needed and will be hugely appreciated on a daily basis!!! Of course all food will be provided and meals will be shared and you would be welcome to either join us for breakfasts or eat on your own - depending on our needs and your preferences!

    In Summer - we can offer accommodation in the raw and original old schoolhouse 5km away from the nearest town. There is a shared double bathroom, a big kitchen and huge rooms (which used to be classrooms), the place is huge so there is lots of space, but if there is a bit more volunteers, you may share the big rooms for sleeping, or we can arrange a tent outside. There is no proper internet in the schoolhouse, mind you, but we do have a mobile hotspot in one of our phones which is enough to watch some movies and do regular online stuff.

    The place is quite striking and incredibly 'soulful' and everyone who has stayed here so far considers themselves lucky to explore such venue :-)

    Evening bonfires with chit-chats, singing and playing guitar are some of our pastimes here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go for walks, cycling trips or go by bus/car to a nearby city Zamość (30km), which is very historical and it has an amazing architecture. We can lend you our car occasionally or we can organise a trip somewhere together. During the summer season there is lots to do and see, it's easy to make new friends, too, but outside of the season you may want to get yourself a few books or borrow ours! :-) There are restaurants in the nearest town where you could grab a beer and some pubs. We have some friends who would be keen on meeting people from abroad and socialising.

    There is an option to organise an open meeting with a Workawayer in our local Culture Centre where people can come and learn about their country and culture, ask questions and exchange experiences. I have organised such meetings before for our friend from Ireland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 958382193983